Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Motorhome Tech Topics
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-12-2019, 12:49 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Thor Outlaw 38RE
State: West Virginia
Posts: 144
THOR #17154
Atwood furnace thermostat

During the winterization I manually switched the bedroom furnace to the off position. When I did, it was a little difficult and I had to push it to the right a little hard. Now I canít seem to get the switch to go back into the on position. I donít want to break it by forcing too hard. Is there a trick to it - pulling forward - backward?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	82E1230A-4714-4308-ABB5-F40DDA229B03.jpeg
Views:	31
Size:	226.5 KB
ID:	21403  
__________________

__________________
WearyTraveler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2019, 11:00 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2013 ACE 30.1
State: Alberta
Posts: 971
THOR #2631
According to the attached link the hard to operate on/off switch on this thermostat seems to be a common problem. Looking at post #4 there is an internal diagram of this thermostat which looks to be the same unit as what you have posted. Since they don't really solve the problem other than by replacing the analog with a new digital thermostat, I would suggest carefully removing the faceplate of the thermostat and see if you can determine what the on off switch is binding on internally. It is possible that the wall mounting screws (especially the one near the on/off switch) are so tight from the factory that they somehow distort the body plastic of the thermostat and bind the movable arm of the on/off switch. Or it could already be broken or jammed with some other broken plastic bits or construction debris.



https://www.popupportal.com/threads/...uestion.99285/
__________________

__________________
javelin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2019, 11:34 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Thor Outlaw 38RE
State: West Virginia
Posts: 144
THOR #17154
Quote:
Originally Posted by javelin View Post
According to the attached link the hard to operate on/off switch on this thermostat seems to be a common problem. Looking at post #4 there is an internal diagram of this thermostat which looks to be the same unit as what you have posted. Since they don't really solve the problem other than by replacing the analog with a new digital thermostat, I would suggest carefully removing the faceplate of the thermostat and see if you can determine what the on off switch is binding on internally. It is possible that the wall mounting screws (especially the one near the on/off switch) are so tight from the factory that they somehow distort the body plastic of the thermostat and bind the movable arm of the on/off switch. Or it could already be broken or jammed with some other broken plastic bits or construction debris.



https://www.popupportal.com/threads/...uestion.99285/
Thanks!
Yep - thatís mine and theyíre having the same issue as I am. Iíve got to go outside tomorrow with my glasses, a screwdriver and a flashlight.
Iíll take the cover off and take a good look-see.
I posted a rookie question a few days ago about replacing it with a programmable digital one.

Itís amazing - with what they charge for these RVs youíd think theyíd put in a programmable one in the bedrooms. Geesch....
__________________
WearyTraveler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2019, 12:48 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Thor Outlaw 38RE
State: West Virginia
Posts: 144
THOR #17154
Found the manual...

I found a detailed manual - not on Thor or Atwood site...

It appears that you may not want to replace the supplied one. The manual lists a delaying mechanism in the supplied thermostat thatís likely not available in an aftermarket one. Hereís the relevant page from the manual. I plan to call Atwood and ask specifically whether it can be replaced.

Hereís the link to the detailed manual that talks about all the functions...

http://bryantrv.com/docs2/docs/hflamefurn04.pdf
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	BABA90F1-6464-4274-B2B2-76BDE37BE19F.jpg
Views:	37
Size:	126.0 KB
ID:	21412  
__________________
WearyTraveler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2019, 08:25 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2013 ACE 30.1
State: Alberta
Posts: 971
THOR #2631
By delay device on the Analog thermostat.....do you mean the anticipator adjustment? Digital Thermostats usually don't need them because they are quite accurate within a degree of setting typically......whereas the analog swings a few degrees and the anticipator allows the furnace burner to be shut off just prior to reaching the set temperature theoretically. That's why folks like Digital (and you actually know where your temp is at).



I just noted that the manual shows what looks like a facsimile of your thermostat mounted upside down with on/off on the bottom. It would be crazy if Thor was mounting these thermostats upside down and in doing so, it somehow caused the on/off switches to be hard to move (gravity clip was jamming the switch?). The thermo faceplate would have to go on so it's readable of course......but can the on/off and temp adjustment slots be used the other way as well? Just doing a "what if" here......
__________________
javelin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 01:09 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Thor Outlaw 38RE
State: West Virginia
Posts: 144
THOR #17154
Quote:
Originally Posted by javelin View Post
By delay device on the Analog thermostat.....do you mean the anticipator adjustment?


...
Not sure - just going by the 4th bullet. These things are foreign to me...
__________________
WearyTraveler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 01:36 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
16ACE27's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
Posts: 3,109
THOR #7035
Quote:
Originally Posted by WearyTraveler View Post
Not sure - just going by the 4th bullet. These things are foreign to me...
That's not a "delay", that's a bandwidth adjustment that sets the spread between the temperature the heater cycles off at (high end) and when it comes back on again (low end). This function is builtin to a digital thermostat.
__________________
The USER Formally Known As TFryman
Ted & Melinda
2016 ACE 27.1
2016 Chevy Sonic Toad
16ACE27 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 02:17 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Brand: Keystone
Model: Sprinter
State: Florida
Posts: 336
THOR #15553
Quote:
Originally Posted by WearyTraveler View Post
Thanks!
Yep - thatís mine and theyíre having the same issue as I am. Iíve got to go outside tomorrow with my glasses, a screwdriver and a flashlight.
Iíll take the cover off and take a good look-see.
I posted a rookie question a few days ago about replacing it with a programmable digital one.

Itís amazing - with what they charge for these RVs youíd think theyíd put in a programmable one in the bedrooms. Geesch....
I have never understand the use of a programmable T-stat in an RV. Home yes. I have one. People coming and going the same time every day. But an RV? Seriously? Digital yes for accuracy but not programmable. Not so much.
__________________
2011 Keystone Sprinter 323BHS. Retired Master Electrician. All Motor Homes are RV's. All RV's are not Motor Homes.
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 02:27 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Thor Outlaw 38RE
State: West Virginia
Posts: 144
THOR #17154
Quote:
Originally Posted by cavie View Post
I have never understand the use of a programmable T-stat in an RV. Home yes. I have one. People coming and going the same time every day. But an RV? Seriously? Digital yes for accuracy but not programmable. Not so much.
Iím thinking programmable more for sleeping. Let it cool down during the night but waking up toasty warm.

And digital for accuracy.
__________________
Charlie and Jamie
2017 Thor Outlaw 38RE
Maysville, West (by God) Virginia
WearyTraveler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2019, 03:26 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Thor Freedom Elite 24HE
State: Vermont
Posts: 3
THOR #15420
The first thing I would do is ,take the cover off and see if something in holding the switch arm ..Got to be something catching it
__________________
Reverend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2019, 01:19 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Thor Outlaw 38RE
State: West Virginia
Posts: 144
THOR #17154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reverend View Post
The first thing I would do is ,take the cover off and see if something in holding the switch arm ..Got to be something catching it
Did that. Nothing really - just way hard to push the switch back to the on position. I ended up taking the cover off and using the tip of my knife to gently ďforceĒ the bottom back. Works - but pretty inconvenient. Really making a programmable / digital replacement look likely.
__________________

__________________
WearyTraveler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
furnace, newbie

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 03:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
×