Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Motorhome Tech Topics
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-19-2017, 10:12 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Rlrydeen's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Palazzo 33.3 bunk
State: Minnesota
Posts: 5
Question Generator Dash Hour Meter

I recently purchased a 2017 Palazzo 33.3 and have only run the generator maybe an hour or so but the Dash Meter shows a large number like 3261.3.
Has anyone seen this before and if so what are the units?
Attached Files
__________________

Rlrydeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2017, 10:34 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
petew's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Vegas 24.1
State: North Carolina
Posts: 263
Well one hour would be 60 minutes and that would be 3,600 seconds so perhaps instead of displaying hours you are getting seconds ?
The 3259.4 if seconds would be about 54 1/2 minutes, pretty close to the hour you said you ran the generator.
__________________

petew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2017, 10:37 PM   #3
gmc
Senior Member
 
gmc's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 32A
State: Florida
Posts: 1,141
As stated in the display - it is supposed to be hours... seems like something is wrong with that gauge...
Watching the video - its not minutes... not seconds... just seems to keep counting... Was the generator running when you took that?

2017 = warranty repair...
__________________
Greg
Not yet retired...
Florida (Michigan transplant)
2014 Hurricane 32A
2000 Infinity (previous)
gmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2017, 11:10 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Rlrydeen's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Palazzo 33.3 bunk
State: Minnesota
Posts: 5
Yes it was running.
Rlrydeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2017, 11:17 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Rlrydeen's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Palazzo 33.3 bunk
State: Minnesota
Posts: 5
I ran the same calculation and thought maybe it was seconds as well. The Meter does say hours though. I asked a Thor rep. and he said he had seen this before and suggested contacting Freightliner. I stopped at a Freightliner service dealer and he said it was a Thor issue but he could look at for $175/hr.
Rlrydeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2017, 02:50 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2013 31L
State: Florida
Posts: 1,246
yep, I think you folks are onto something.

Don't be fooled by that tag calling it hours. I believe that is just a tag to label the data set. It could read anything they typed in and has nothing to do with the number most likely....

That looks like some sort of aftermarket meter display. It takes in a signal from the generator and displays something.... but I'll bet there is a setting or multiplier in there somewhere

For $175 an hour, I think I would find out what make and model that little display is, and go find the manual for it.... along with the manual from the generator so that you can understand what sort of signial it is outputing....go park that RV someplace with a nice view.... crack open a beer and spend a little quality time with the manual
blw2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2017, 05:23 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Rlrydeen's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Palazzo 33.3 bunk
State: Minnesota
Posts: 5
Yup the meter reads seconds if you ignore the decimal point. Weird. It's a Freightliner dash and a Cummins generator so I will see what they have to say about this.
Attached Files
Rlrydeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2017, 08:59 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Brand: Still Looking
State: Texas
Posts: 12
Why wouldn't this be something that the dealer would handle without having to go to Freightliner and pay $175 hour? This kind of thing makes us novices cringe about buying a diesel pusher and especially a Thor!
gosman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2017, 11:02 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2017 Windsport 29M
State: Indiana
Posts: 2,848
Just curious, are there any buttons that might change the display, it may be multi function.
__________________
USMC Veteran
FMCA 101070S

Dave & Myra
One day your life will flash before your eyes,
make sure it's worth watching!
SuperD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2017, 11:45 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
TurnerFam's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Palazzo 33.3 bunkhouse
State: North Carolina
Posts: 279
well, it's not a 'Thor' issue, it is a 'Freightliner' issue as they produce and provide these dash setups to Thor for the Cummins and Allision connections, as well as the Cummin Onan generator...

call FL 24/7 800 service number and they can help you
__________________
the Turners
'14 Palazzo bunkhouse 35'
Diesel '14 FordFocus, Tailgater2 Dish HD, 200w/10a SOLAR
75,000+ miles...300+ parks, campgrounds, drycamping, ALASKA and Canada
TurnerFam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2017, 02:46 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Palazzo 33.3
State: Texas
Posts: 15
I just recently bought a 33.3 as well, and mine counts like this too. I would be interested to know if you did anything about it or just let it go?

I do know the AGS also can count generator time at the remote control. I don't think it is really a great solution, but it is there if for some reason you need it.
ZaN_RV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2017, 04:19 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 34E
State: Colorado
Posts: 217
I have a Thor Hurricane and it has had it's problems, but I have
a friend with a year old Winnebago 37 ft DP and his has been in
the shop more than he has gotten to use it.
__________________
Phil Saran
2015 Thor Hurricane 34E
2011 Dodge Dakota 4x4 toad
Parker, Colorado
Phil Saran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2017, 05:12 PM   #13
Junior Member
 
Rlrydeen's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Palazzo 33.3 bunk
State: Minnesota
Posts: 5
I have let it go. The meter on the generator properly reads out in hours. Yesterday ready to go on our first camping trip the rear slide motor seems to have failed. Spent the day getting the slide back in so I can drive it to the dealer (Camping World) and unloading. The dealer will be getting a long list of what I repaired myself and what still needs to be done including the generator meter. Stay tuned for the result.
Rlrydeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2017, 12:11 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Chitown143's Avatar
 
State: Florida
Posts: 3
I have the same issue of the dash gen meter apparently ticking off every second as an hour on a brand new 2017 Thor Palazzo 35.1. The meter on the Onan 6000w gen itself reads correct. Drives me nuts. Dealer said nothing they can do, need to talk to Freightliner. Haven't had time for that yet. Will call Thor CS first. Will post an update as this issue evolves...
Chitown143 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2017, 01:27 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Tfryman's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
Posts: 565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chitown143 View Post
I have the same issue of the dash gen meter apparently ticking off every second as an hour on a brand new 2017 Thor Palazzo 35.1. The meter on the Onan 6000w gen itself reads correct. Drives me nuts. Dealer said nothing they can do, need to talk to Freightliner. Haven't had time for that yet. Will call Thor CS first. Will post an update as this issue evolves...
Call Freightliner? Who built, sold and delivered the coach? Do they tell you to call Norcold if you have a refrigerator problem? Do they tell yo to call Suburban for a water heater problem? Do they tell you to call Seiki for a TV problem? THEY need to call Freightliner and Onan to resolve the issue.
Tfryman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2017, 07:38 PM   #16
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Palazzo 33.3
State: Texas
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chitown143 View Post
I have the same issue of the dash gen meter apparently ticking off every second as an hour on a brand new 2017 Thor Palazzo 35.1. The meter on the Onan 6000w gen itself reads correct. Drives me nuts. Dealer said nothing they can do, need to talk to Freightliner. Haven't had time for that yet. Will call Thor CS first. Will post an update as this issue evolves...
I was talking to my service group about this as well. Basically it is some weird firmware flash Freightliner has to do, and I guess it isn't perfected yet. He said they multiple on property that have the issue and Freightliner won't release the flash to them to do it, so they have to actually take the units to Freightliner to have it done there.
__________________

ZaN_RV is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator, meter, palazzo, units

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by



ThorForums.com is not in any way associated with Thor Industries or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2