Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Brands and Products > Thor Motor Coach | Class A, Class B+ & Class C Motorhomes
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-10-2018, 06:26 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Brand: Still Looking
State: Delaware
Posts: 12
THOR #9488
Convection Cook Top

We are still getting to know our new Aria 3401. It came with a convection cook top which is pretty nice. We just learned two things. It is on the same circuit as the washing machine. You can use both at same time. Also, if one of the burners is on highest setting, the other is limited to half of the highest setting. Anyone else having same issue?
__________________

__________________
jdamann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2018, 03:48 AM   #2
Member
 
Emmett's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 24HE
State: Florida
Posts: 87
THOR #10225
Do you mean induction cooktop?
__________________

__________________
Emmett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2018, 03:16 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Brand: Still Looking
State: Delaware
Posts: 12
THOR #9488
Yes....induction

Yes....induction
__________________
jdamann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2018, 03:42 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Travelin' Texans's Avatar
 
Brand: Redwood
State: Texas
Posts: 923
THOR #3610
From reading other forums apparently all the induction cooktops in rvs operate that way, however much you you turn on burner #2 reduces #1.
We have 2 of the "as seen on tv" induction hot plate style & they are fantastic.
__________________
Danny & Linda
Travelin' Texans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2018, 04:22 PM   #5
Kev
Senior Member
 
Kev's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Windsport
State: Florida
Posts: 738
THOR #3918
Induction cooktop

We have a portable induction cook top and really like it. Especially in the summer no heat from the gas cook top to heat up the coach. We never use the gas cook top. The only thing that may be a negative for some is you cannot use aluminum pans.

kev
__________________
Kev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2018, 08:03 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Aria 3901
State: Idaho
Posts: 343
THOR #9660
I've heard of some that will cut power to one burner when the other is on high, but ours does not. I have boiled water on both at the same time, both on high. Pretty quick, too. Did have to purchase new pots and pans, though.
__________________
m1noel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2018, 09:10 PM   #7
Axis/Vegas Enthusiast
 
JamieGeek's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 24.1
State: Michigan
Posts: 8,210
THOR #1150
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kev View Post
We have a portable induction cook top and really like it. Especially in the summer no heat from the gas cook top to heat up the coach. We never use the gas cook top. The only thing that may be a negative for some is you cannot use aluminum pans.

kev
We also picked up a portable one. Use it in the RV all the time (almost never use the propane stove anymore). As a bonus we can use the portable one outside...
__________________
2014 Thor Axis 24.1
2018 Chevy Bolt
blog - https://spareelectrons.wordpress.com/
JamieGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2018, 07:52 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
RGarlick's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Aria 3401
State: Colorado
Posts: 6
THOR #13518
We have a Aria 3410. We occasionally get an E3 error. Some person from China probably wrote the manual, as I don't understand the meaning of their error explanation. I would have to suspect that we are doing something incorrectly to cause the error. Any insight would be appreciated.
__________________
RGarlick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2018, 11:56 PM   #9
Member
 
MiramarTN's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Miramar
State: Tennessee
Posts: 30
THOR #12286
Quote:
Originally Posted by RGarlick View Post
We have a Aria 3410. We occasionally get an E3 error. Some person from China probably wrote the manual, as I don't understand the meaning of their error explanation. I would have to suspect that we are doing something incorrectly to cause the error. Any insight would be appreciated.
If you have the same High Pointe M-ID185 cooktop that is in my Miramar, the E3 code indicates the main sensor is hot. Operation should return to normal when cool. If you keep getting this error code, have the unit serviced.
__________________
2018 Thor Miramar 34.2
Kar Kaddy SS
2017 Chev Bolt EV

MiramarTN
MiramarTN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2018, 12:00 AM   #10
Junior Member
 
RGarlick's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Aria 3401
State: Colorado
Posts: 6
THOR #13518
Had to think about this for a while, and obviously I don't understand something. Isn't the idea of a stove that it is supposed to get hot?It's all right if induction units operate different, but I would appreciate it if someone would educate me Thanks, gang.
__________________
RGarlick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2018, 12:31 AM   #11
Axis/Vegas Enthusiast
 
JamieGeek's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 24.1
State: Michigan
Posts: 8,210
THOR #1150
Quote:
Originally Posted by RGarlick View Post
Had to think about this for a while, and obviously I don't understand something. Isn't the idea of a stove that it is supposed to get hot?It's all right if induction units operate different, but I would appreciate it if someone would educate me Thanks, gang.
Sure I'll give it a stab: An induction cooktop heats the pan via a coil in the "burner". Instead of a big resistor getting hot there is a coil generating a magnetic field. The field induces a current in the pan (the pans have to be magnetic). The current in the pan causes it to heat up.

Hence the "burner" doesn't get hot, the pan does.

A much more detailed explanation from Wikipedia.
__________________
2014 Thor Axis 24.1
2018 Chevy Bolt
blog - https://spareelectrons.wordpress.com/
JamieGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2018, 12:32 AM   #12
Member
 
MiramarTN's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Miramar
State: Tennessee
Posts: 30
THOR #12286
Quote:
Originally Posted by RGarlick View Post
Had to think about this for a while, and obviously I don't understand something. Isn't the idea of a stove that it is supposed to get hot?It's all right if induction units operate different, but I would appreciate it if someone would educate me Thanks, gang.
The information I provided on the error code was just what my product owner's manual stated.

The idea of an induction stove is not to get hot. The only heat is the heat that is transferred to the cooktop from the pot/pan while cooking. Induction cooktops must use pots and pans in which a magnet will stick, no aluminum. The magnetic fields cause the pot/pan to heat up. That is why induction cooktops will be cool to the touch not too long after the pot/pan is removed.

Although we are still getting familiar with our Miramar, my wife really likes the induction cooktop.

I hope this helps.
__________________

__________________
2018 Thor Miramar 34.2
Kar Kaddy SS
2017 Chev Bolt EV

MiramarTN
MiramarTN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aria, cooktop, induction

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 08:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
×