Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Motorcoach & Motorhome > Class C and Super C Motorhomes
Click Here to Login

Old 10-25-2015, 04:04 AM   #1

Brand: Still Looking
Model: Dynamax REV 24 RB
State: Pennsylvania
THOR #3069
Four Winds/Chateau quality?

I am thinking about buying a Four Winds or possibly a Chateau but I have a concern that the experience and wisdom of this group can address.

I currently own a Forest River 2250 Sunseeker and overall I am very pleased with it, the local dealer not so much, but 20 minutes from home. We would like something a little larger, especially the bathroom and shower.

There are several Thor dealers within an hour or less from my home.

I have no personal experience with Thor products other than looking at an Axis which we found to seem cheaply built inside. Hence, no sale.

I have read many horror stories about Thor Class A motorhomes quality or lack of it.

I do not recall reading anything negative about the Four Winds/Chateau models.

So, is there much to worry about?

Thank you,

Bobby

Old 10-25-2015, 01:54 PM   #2

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Chateau 28F
State: Colorado
THOR #2768
I purchased a 2015 Chateau in August. I put 6,000 miles on it since then. The only things I noticed that I would say happens with most RVs is loose screws. The coach runs great ( trips to Texas and North Carolina). Gas mileage is between 6.5 in the mountains and 9.0 going across Kansas. We love out 28F..
Old 10-25-2015, 04:46 PM   #3

THOR #3069
Thanks for that. I am hoping the C's are much better than their A's. We plan to visit a dealer this coming week.

I bought my current RV in August. It was slightly used and the only real problem is they have to replace the propane tank under warranty due to a crack and leak.

Not even a loose screw. (Other than the owner.)