Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Motorcoach & Motorhome > Class A Motor Coach
Click Here to Login

Old 02-13-2016, 03:07 PM   #1

Brand: Still Looking
State: North Carolina
THOR #3650
Would appreciate comments on 2016 Challenger

I'm new to the Motorhome/RV world and have been looking at six coaches listed below. They all have bath and a half.

Forest River Georgetown XL 360DS
Newmar Canyon Star 3710
Newmar Canyon Star 3953
Thor Challenger 37LX
Thor Miramar 34.1
Tiffin Allegro 36LA

My wife and I keep coming back to the Challenger 37LX. Any information you could give us about the "LX" or Challenger in general would be very helpful.

Its a funny thing, the first brochure I ever saw as a 2015 Thor Tuscany and I thought it was about the most beautiful thing I ever saw. So maybe its understandable when I first saw the Challenger brochure I thought the same thing!

Thanks for any help

Old 02-13-2016, 03:31 PM   #2
Site Team

Brand: Entegra
Model: Accolade 37TS
State: South Dakota
THOR #1469
We bought our 2015 Challenger 37ND last February and the only problem we have is not having the time to take it out enough. We took four trips last year averaging 1 or 2 weeks and 800 to 1,000 miles per trip. We had a slide problem on the shakedown cruise where a wire came loose from the slide motor due to a bulb seal missing. Thor reimbursed me for a mobile tech and sent me the missing bulb seal for replacement.

My coach is currently in the shop for its first and only warranty visit and the items are all relatively minor. In fact if I didn't need a generator and chassis service and state safety inspection I may have just bit the bullet and repaired the items myself. Right now the dealer is waiting on the parts for the step recall.

For me, Thor Customer service has been outstanding which is something that was non existent with my Forest River.