Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Motorcoach & Motorhome > Class A Motor Coach
Click Here to Login

Old 09-29-2015, 09:46 PM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Kentucky
THOR #2859
No power when connected to shore power

I have a new 2016 palazzo. My first attempt to connect to 30 amp shore power at my house. Initial there was a hum of the converter, then it stop sounded like a breaker popped in the unit. Waited 30 min while looking for breaker to reset. Reconnected but nothing. Yes I have power thru the cord. Any suggestions, I am sure there is a simple fix, I am just new to this motor coach??? Help, please.

Old 09-29-2015, 10:40 PM   #2

Model: A.C.E 29.3
State: Florida
THOR #2954
We had a similar issue with our 2016 ACE 29.3. Turns out the wiring to the transfer switch burned through. We had 115 if we ran the generator and we had 12 volts, but no shore power. Popped the hatch on the electrical components (which is under the bed) and noticed that the transfer switch box was melted. The wires inside were burned to a crisp.

RV is in the shop having this fixed. Nothing like an electrical fire under your bed to rattle your confidence.
Old 09-29-2015, 10:41 PM   #3

THOR #1249
There are usually some breakers on your converter panel. I would guess you have checked those. Also, there is a auto transfer switch for genny vs shore power to check.
Good luck.
Old 09-29-2015, 11:55 PM   #4

THOR #2859
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacksmi View Post
We had a similar issue with our 2016 ACE 29.3. Turns out the wiring to the transfer switch burned through. We had 115 if we ran the generator and we had 12 volts, but no shore power. Popped the hatch on the electrical components (which is under the bed) and noticed that the transfer switch box was melted. The wires inside were burned to a crisp.