Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Motorcoach & Motorhome > Class A Motor Coach
Click Here to Login

Old 06-10-2017, 12:58 PM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Kansas
THOR #7848
stabilizing a 30FE

I am new to motorcoaches. New to RV's, too. Last RV I owned was a used 19' trailer in 1983. So, I will have what may seem to be pretty basic questions. This one concerns stabilizing. We took our new Freedom Elite 30FE for an overnighter to try everything out. Glad to say everything worked. The only issue was how much movement we felt every time either of moved at night. This made me realize we need to stabilize the vehicle in camp. I have ordered jack stands but I really don't know how to place them. Does one need to stabilize both front and rear? Where is the best and safest spots to place the jacks?

Old 06-10-2017, 01:21 PM   #2
Site Team

Brand: Entegra
Model: Accolade 37TS
State: South Dakota
THOR #1469
Quote:
Originally Posted by pylelr View Post
I am new to motorcoaches. New to RV's, too. Last RV I owned was a used 19' trailer in 1983. So, I will have what may seem to be pretty basic questions. This one concerns stabilizing. We took our new Freedom Elite 30FE for an overnighter to try everything out. Glad to say everything worked. The only issue was how much movement we felt every time either of moved at night. This made me realize we need to stabilize the vehicle in camp. I have ordered jack stands but I really don't know how to place them. Does one need to stabilize both front and rear? Where is the best and safest spots to place the jacks?
My prior class C has three stabilizer (scissor) jacks installed. There were 2 in the rear and one center front. They should be mounted to the frame or house if possible since you want to remove the sway caused by the house interaction with the chassis suspension.