Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Motorcoach & Motorhome > Class A Motor Coach
Click Here to Login

Old 11-01-2017, 06:46 PM   #1

Brand: Still Looking
State: New York
THOR #9864
thinking about buying 2018 ace 29.3

hi I'm new to rv and was thinking about buying thor ace 29.3 was wondering if people liked the mh there likes and dislikes any major problems

Old 11-01-2017, 07:57 PM   #2

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 30.1
State: Colorado
THOR #5190
We have a 2017 ACE 30.1. Overall we've been happy with it, but with any coach you will find anywhere from a few, to some larger number of construction issues. Unfortunately its a bit of a lottery on how many defects you get, so do a thorough Pre Delivery Inspection and test everything.

At the ACE price point you are basically getting Class C trim in a Class A body. Nothing wrong with that, especially if you are just going to use for shorter duration trips and not expecting to full time in it. We chose ours because we wanted to get into National Parks and anything longer generally won't fit. Even then we have to be careful about site selection.

We've done well but did have a few things, all of which I was readily able to fix.

- Had to troubleshoot and reconnect wiring for 3 circuit breakers. Thor had scrambled the water heater circuit with the passenger and driver side receptacles.
- Had a problem with water getting into the furnace and causing strange behavior as the water pooled under the circuit board. Fixed that by putting butyl tape around the cover.
- A couple of drawer slides came loose in the back due to an insufficient number of screws.
- The OEM batteries lasted 6 months. Ours were Harris batteries. You will find a number of posts in the forum of how poor these batteries are and that the warranty is basically worthless