Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Modifications and Updates
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-09-2018, 05:55 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Windsport
State: Pennsylvania
Posts: 10
THOR #12275
30amp-50amp upgrade

I have a 2002 Thor Windsport 35D and want to upgrade to 50 amp service. Has anyone done this upgrade and are there existing wiring schematics for 2002 models available?
I am in PA any suggestions on how to proceed?
__________________

__________________
wp013111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2018, 06:00 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
saddlesore's Avatar
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: SOB
State: South Dakota
Posts: 590
THOR #3916
Quote:
Originally Posted by wp013111 View Post
I have a 2002 Thor Windsport 35D and want to upgrade to 50 amp service. Has anyone done this upgrade and are there existing wiring schematics for 2002 models available?
I am in PA any suggestions on how to proceed?
I would question the financial viability of trying to upgrade all the wiring/breaker boxes and so on...
I do not believe that your expense to do so will justify the marginal improvements achieved..
__________________

__________________
current coach
SOB (some other brand)
former coach
Thor Infinity
saddlesore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2018, 06:23 PM   #3
I Think We're Lost!
 
Bob Denman's Avatar
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
State: New York
Posts: 11,170
THOR #8860
You might want to contact Thor, and request the wiring schematics.
If you tell them what your plan is: they could probably tell you what needs upgrading!
__________________
Good Sam Member 843599689
FMCA Member F473304

Current coach: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
Former coach: Thor Outlaw 29-H
Bob Denman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2018, 06:31 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
16ACE27's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
Posts: 2,882
THOR #7035
You will need at least a new Breaker panel, ATS, 50 Amp plug and upgraded wiring to/from these devices.

If you just want the extra capacity for a second Air Conditioner, it may be more feasible to run an individual 20 Amp circuit to it directly with it's own plug and then use a 50 Amp plug/adapter like this:

https://www.amazon.com/Conntek-Adatp.../dp/B003YDY89Y
__________________
The USER Formally Known As TFryman
Ted & Melinda
2016 ACE 27.1
2016 Chevy Sonic Toad
16ACE27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2018, 06:32 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Windsport
State: Pennsylvania
Posts: 10
THOR #12275
50 amp upgrade

Thanks for the responses.. I realize this is not a $500 thing to do, the idea of contacting Thor is a good idea. I will start there because that makes it easier for an electrician and saves me money from having him chase down wires.
As far as if it is necessary I am tired of just running 1 AC unit and having to turn it off to use the microwave.
Any other ideas are welcome and thanks again.
__________________
wp013111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2018, 06:38 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
The Gritz Carlton's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: THOR Chateua 35SF
State: Georgia
Posts: 3,657
THOR #11130
A cheaper fix might be to isolate the microwave supply line (they are usually on a dedicated circuit anyway) to a single 110V line and run that line directly out near your 30A plug in a compartment somewhere. You could plug that line into a 15/20A outlet separate from your 30A connection but at the same power post.
__________________
2018 THOR Chateau 35SF
Two Labs, Bugsie & Blondie
The Gritz Carlton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2018, 06:45 PM   #7
I Think We're Lost!
 
Bob Denman's Avatar
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
State: New York
Posts: 11,170
THOR #8860
Quote:
Originally Posted by wp013111 View Post
Thanks for the responses.. I realize this is not a $500 thing to do, the idea of contacting Thor is a good idea. I will start there because that makes it easier for an electrician and saves me money from having him chase down wires.
As far as if it is necessary I am tired of just running 1 AC unit and having to turn it off to use the microwave.
Any other ideas are welcome and thanks again.
Good luck with this project; please keep us informed as to it's progress!
__________________
Good Sam Member 843599689
FMCA Member F473304

Current coach: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
Former coach: Thor Outlaw 29-H
Bob Denman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2018, 06:45 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Windsport
State: Pennsylvania
Posts: 10
THOR #12275
50 amp upgrade

I am already using the 20 amp circuit for a large TV. My research says 30 amp is about 3500 watts 50 amp is about 12,500 watts.
I don't mind spending the money if I can have everything work at once. Newer motorhomes are almost all 50 amp. I realize not all campgrounds have 50 amp but most are upgrading. I am going to use my RV about 4-5 months a year for a few years
__________________
wp013111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2018, 07:13 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Brand: Still Looking
State: Texas
Posts: 3,929
THOR #2121
Quote:
Originally Posted by wp013111 View Post

....cut..... As far as if it is necessary I am tired of just running 1 AC unit and having to turn it off to use the microwave.
Any other ideas are welcome and thanks again.

A family member purchased a Classic motorhome that was upgraded from 30 to 50 Amps and the work was done poorly, looking like a DIY job. It can be done, and if done at all, I suggest doing it right. In my opinion a good electrician familiar with doing this type of work will not benefit much from Thor drawings. Wiring is fairly basic and most things that matter will be replaced anyway. Not saying drawings may not help, but I doubt they are necessary. Just my 2 cents.




P.S. ó Before spending a lot of money, I suggest you first spend a little time collecting data so you can make an informed decision.

I ran my A/C and microwave simultaneously with 30-Amp service all the time and didnít have an issue. Itís possible you may have other loads in background youíre not accounting for, or perhaps your A/C is old, worn or dirty and draws more current than it should. There could be many reasons why 30 Amps isnít enough.

It may be cheaper to replace A/C with higher efficiency unit. And if looking at a second A/C, you may want to look at newer motorhomes that run 2 smaller 11,000 BTUH A/Cs on 30-Amp service. To run microwave youíd still have to turn one of the 2 A/Cs off. There are lots of options depending on budget.
__________________
Chance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2018, 09:03 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
saddlesore's Avatar
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: SOB
State: South Dakota
Posts: 590
THOR #3916
On our former coach ('99 Thor/Four Winds-Infinity, the predecessor to yours) , it had 2 A/C's in a 30a service coach....but they may have only been 13k units... did a fair job of cooing.....
__________________
current coach
SOB (some other brand)
former coach
Thor Infinity
saddlesore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2018, 06:41 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Windsport
State: Pennsylvania
Posts: 10
THOR #12275
Just had an automotive electrical shop that is supposed to be the best around Pittsburgh give me a quote on the 30amp to 50 amp upgrade with everything done right.... they have done 9 of these upgrades.... cost $1250.00 I think it is a very fair price. Now I will go from 30 amps and about 3500 watts of power to 50 amps and 12,500 watts of power
__________________
wp013111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2018, 06:46 PM   #12
I Think We're Lost!
 
Bob Denman's Avatar
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
State: New York
Posts: 11,170
THOR #8860
For quality work: that's a VERY fair price!
Please let us know how this project ends up!
__________________
Good Sam Member 843599689
FMCA Member F473304

Current coach: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
Former coach: Thor Outlaw 29-H
Bob Denman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2018, 07:39 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 31S
State: Texas
Posts: 1,454
THOR #6411
I did this myself last fall. I was able to buy everything I needed, new, for just under $2,000. -Furrion shore line, Furron twist lock receptacle, PD transfer switch, PI EMS, PD4500 distribution panel and charger, circuit breakers and 8 ga UG cable and a Coleman Mach 8 heat pump with condensate pump and thermostat. Took three 6 hour days. Helps to be a retired aeronautical engineer.
__________________
Jim & Roy Davis
2016 Hurricane 31S
1961 Rampside in tow
Beau388 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2018, 08:13 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
saddlesore's Avatar
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: SOB
State: South Dakota
Posts: 590
THOR #3916
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Denman View Post
For quality work: that's a VERY fair price!
Please let us know how this project ends up!
Very good price indeed!
Just hope that the "internal" coach wiring is heavy enough, but all breaker boxes,transfer switches will need to be upgraded.
__________________
current coach
SOB (some other brand)
former coach
Thor Infinity
saddlesore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2018, 09:35 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
TurnerFam's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Palazzo 33.3 34'bunkhouse
State: Alabama
Posts: 1,792
THOR #4735
50 rv service is 240v, not just 20 more amps, but 100amps, as there are TWO 50amp incoming lines, being split by your breaker box thru a Main double-pole 50amp breaker. Each ‘side’ receives 50amps.

I would suggest you first go a much easier route, tho...run both ACs on 30amps.. I do.
__________________
the Turners
'14 Palazzo 33.3 bunkhouse 34' diesel
KingTailgater2 Dish HD, 100w/5a SOLAR, BlueOx
100,000+mi since '14 - US, Alaska, Canada.... was WC Georgia, then W NorthCarolina, now Lacey's Spring, AL : )
TurnerFam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2018, 10:11 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
TurnerFam's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Palazzo 33.3 34'bunkhouse
State: Alabama
Posts: 1,792
THOR #4735
but, yes, a 50amp upgrade would require a new 50amp transfer switch, a 50amp double-pole Main breaker box, and probably an additional sub-panel for the Inverter breakers, as well as the 50amp Shore cord.
As for electrical outlets, wiring to outlets, etc... nothing changes. It's all already 120v.
__________________
the Turners
'14 Palazzo 33.3 bunkhouse 34' diesel
KingTailgater2 Dish HD, 100w/5a SOLAR, BlueOx
100,000+mi since '14 - US, Alaska, Canada.... was WC Georgia, then W NorthCarolina, now Lacey's Spring, AL : )
TurnerFam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2018, 11:16 AM   #17
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Windsport
State: Pennsylvania
Posts: 10
THOR #12275
The transfer switch and panel along all other parts are being upgraded, including a 30 ft power cord.
__________________
wp013111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2018, 06:17 PM   #18
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Windsport
State: Pennsylvania
Posts: 10
THOR #12275
picked up the RV today with the upgraded 50 amp service. They plugged it in at the electric shop.... turned on 2 ac units, the microwave, fridge and a tv.... what a difference well worth the $1350.00 it ended up costing me. Need to head to Florida before it cools down.
__________________
wp013111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2018, 02:40 AM   #19
Junior Member
 
State: California
Posts: 18
THOR #12443
Great upgrade! Wish I can get those rates in Los Angeles or even a lead to something that can do this. We will be traveling into Arizona next year in the summer and I'm already panicking.


If anyone knows of anyone out this way that can give a helping hand, i'm willing to pay or even diy. Im in Rancho Cucamonga, CA
__________________
raffit78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2018, 11:12 AM   #20
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Windsport
State: Pennsylvania
Posts: 10
THOR #12275
Since I had mine upgraded from 30-50 it is fantastic. I can run both AC, microwave big screen TV.
Any real electrician can do it but someone with experience running the new wires thru an RV would be better. Don't go to a place like Camping World, find an automotive electrical shop. One little thing buy a Y cord on Amazon from your new 50 down to 30 & 20 then you can go anywhere.
__________________

__________________
wp013111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
50amp upgrade

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 08:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
×