Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Modifications and Updates
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-11-2016, 03:49 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Alabama
Posts: 6
THOR #3406
Add 2nd Air Condition to a ACE

Has anybody every add a second Air Condition unit to ACE 27.1 2016, live in the deep south one unit has hard time keeping the trailer cool. I already have a 15000 unit.
__________________

__________________
Dee1960 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2016, 07:01 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
bevedfelker's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2015 Vegas 24.1
State: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,304
THOR #2601
Are you planning to rewire to 50 amp to be able to run two A/C's? You might want to also consider the cost and what all has to be done to go from 30 amp to 50 amp.
__________________

__________________
Ed & Bev Felker
Retired USAF Col and retired Nurse
Traveling with Lily & Bella ('Teddy Bear' breed)
2015 Vegas 24.1 (E-350)
bevedfelker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2016, 09:13 PM   #3
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: A.C.E. 27.1
State: Texas
Posts: 64
THOR #2240
Hi,
I have been thinking about it but it is way down on the "to do list" fix all what's existing first...
My approach would be adding a bedroom unit on its own dedicated/stand alone circuit, themostat etc with a direct power line to the post so not interfering with original house 30amp system.

Just a thought
Rgds
Tex.
__________________
Texan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2016, 09:27 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Brand: Still Looking
State: Texas
Posts: 3,929
THOR #2121
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texan View Post
Hi,
I have been thinking about it but it is way down on the "to do list" fix all what's existing first...
My approach would be adding a bedroom unit on its own dedicated/stand alone circuit, themostat etc with a direct power line to the post so not interfering with original house 30amp system.

Just a thought
Rgds
Tex.
A couple of members have reported recently doing just that. You can probably find it if you Search this forum.
__________________
Chance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2016, 08:07 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Mississippi
Posts: 11
THOR #4519
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dee1960 View Post
Has anybody every add a second Air Condition unit to ACE 27.1 2016, live in the deep south one unit has hard time keeping the trailer cool. I already have a 15000 unit.
I did that exact thing. I have a 30.1 ACE. Popped off the bedroom vent fan and installed a Coleman Mach 13.5. Thermostat controls on the unit so no need to run wires for a thermostat. I used 12/2 with ground romex wire in wire mold into the cabinet then out the bottom of the coach. Used a regular duplex receptacle in a weather proof box. Created a plug using SO cord with a male adapter on both ends. So now I just plug one additional electrical connection under the coach and one to the pedestal 120V when I need extra air conditioning. Also added another duplex receptacle in the living room on the same circuit for winter heating

I told the DW that these folks from Indiana don't have a clue about the Southern HEAT!! I can hang meat in my coach now even when its 95 degrees with 95% humidity.
__________________
YingYang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2016, 11:49 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Alabama
Posts: 6
THOR #3406
Add 2nd Air Condition to a ACE

Thank you for the information but how did you run the wire from AC thru the ceiling to the wall
__________________
Dee1960 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2016, 11:52 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Mississippi
Posts: 11
THOR #4519
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dee1960 View Post
Thank you for the information but how did you run the wire from AC thru the ceiling to the wall
I ran the power out the unit exposed on the ceiling. Put the wire in wire molding (from Home Depot). Ran into the cabinet in the bedroom. Rest of the wire is hidden inside the cabinet/closet.
__________________
YingYang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2016, 11:54 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 30.2
State: South Carolina
Posts: 186
THOR #2915
Quote:
Originally Posted by YingYang View Post
I did that exact thing. I have a 30.1 ACE. Popped off the bedroom vent fan and installed a Coleman Mach 13.5. Thermostat controls on the unit so no need to run wires for a thermostat. I used 12/2 with ground romex wire in wire mold into the cabinet then out the bottom of the coach. Used a regular duplex receptacle in a weather proof box. Created a plug using SO cord with a male adapter on both ends. So now I just plug one additional electrical connection under the coach and one to the pedestal 120V when I need extra air conditioning. Also added another duplex receptacle in the living room on the same circuit for winter heating

I told the DW that these folks from Indiana don't have a clue about the Southern HEAT!! I can hang meat in my coach now even when its 95 degrees with 95% humidity.
Do you have some pictures of that project?
__________________
Have a good one

Dan

"Be all that you can be!"
Dan9841 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2016, 11:56 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Mississippi
Posts: 11
THOR #4519
I don't have any of the project while I was doing but can take some of the finished project.
__________________
YingYang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2016, 11:58 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 30.2
State: South Carolina
Posts: 186
THOR #2915
Quote:
Originally Posted by YingYang View Post
I don't have any of the project while I was doing but can take some of the finished project.
That would be great. I asked CW if they could install an additional AC unit but they told me I had to rewire to 50amp. OH HECK NO way cheaper to do it myself.
__________________
Have a good one

Dan

"Be all that you can be!"
Dan9841 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2016, 12:03 AM   #11
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Mississippi
Posts: 11
THOR #4519
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan9841 View Post
That would be great. I asked CW if they could install an additional AC unit but they told me I had to rewire to 50amp. OH HECK NO way cheaper to do it myself.
Exactly! Easy project if your a little handy!
__________________
YingYang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2016, 12:44 AM   #12
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Mississippi
Posts: 11
THOR #4519

Wire molding to right of AC unit.


Wire molding inside cabinet/closet


Duplex receptacle under coach in weatherproof box


SO cord with 2 male ends

Everything but AC unit can be sourced at Home Depot. Hope this helps.
__________________
YingYang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2016, 12:55 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 30.2
State: South Carolina
Posts: 186
THOR #2915
Brilliant!!!
Just added another project to my list. Thank you for sharing.
__________________
Have a good one

Dan

"Be all that you can be!"
Dan9841 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2016, 09:53 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Alabama
Posts: 6
THOR #3406
Thank you again for all the information and pictures
__________________
Dee1960 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2016, 09:59 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Bob Montgomery's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 29.3 (2016)
State: Montana
Posts: 511
THOR #4032
Very nice job!
__________________
Bob Montgomery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2016, 09:20 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Hittntherooad's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 30.1
State: North Carolina
Posts: 321
THOR #3952
Quote:
Originally Posted by YingYang View Post

Wire molding to right of AC unit.


Wire molding inside cabinet/closet


Duplex receptacle under coach in weatherproof box


SO cord with 2 male ends

Everything but AC unit can be sourced at Home Depot. Hope this helps.
Nice job and I did the same thing except the double male cord. I left my 10/2 wire long enough to plug into the campground wiring. I snaked my wire into the same chase the light wiring was in. Be very careful with that double ended male. Someone could get killed thinking it was a drop cord
I was helping my son in law at his house one day and needed a drop cord. He didn't have one so he went to his dad's to get one. I plugged it in and started working my way to the other end and saw it had another male on it. I threw it down. I was out in his yard with wet feet.It was his dad's generator cord.
__________________
Hittntherooad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2016, 11:03 PM   #17
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Mississippi
Posts: 11
THOR #4519
Yup. Got to be very careful. It stays in the motorhome. Plug in under first then into pedestal. I just didn't want to have a dangling cord under the coach.
__________________

__________________
YingYang is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 10:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
×