Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Modifications and Updates
Click Here to Login

Old 06-26-2015, 03:31 PM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Challenger 35HT
State: Maryland
THOR #1875
AirTabs

Has anyone installed these? And if so do they help with stability as claimed? My Challenger is actually pretty stable when being passed by trucks, but has some issues in cross winds. I was thinking this might be an inexpensive option that I can install myself.

Airtab | Aerodynamic Fuel Savers | Application

2015 Thor Challenger 35HT
jrben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2015, 04:48 PM   #2

Model: Hurricane 34E
State: California
THOR #937
I studied aeronautical engineering at the school of big books.

While I commend the fine marketing and promotion of AirTabs, and truly promote capitalism, free enterprise, U.S.A. Manufacturing, and the free market economy, they only serve to reduce rear turbulence somewhat.

Air tabs do absolutely nothing to improve wind resistance. They will not improve the fact that you are pushing an approximately 110 sq.ft. wall directly into the wind every moment that you drive a motorhome.

If you can stand to look at them once they are installed, (and are capable of completely ignoring the laughter and stares that they cause to those that notice them and point when they pass or at the fuel stop), then they are great!
Old 06-26-2015, 05:02 PM   #3
Axis/Vegas Enthusiast

Model: Axis 24.4
State: Michigan
THOR #1150
You could also try the edge fairing:
Edge Fairings Gain SmartWay Elite Status - Trailer Talk - TruckingInfo.com

JamieGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2015, 08:41 PM   #4
Moderator Emeritus

Model: 2011 Four Winds 28Z
THOR #531
Funny you mentioned Air Tabs...