Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Modifications and Updates
Click Here to Login

Old 01-14-2019, 01:12 AM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 21RB
State: California
THOR #14145
Upgrade thermostat/optional Mach III + heater repair

I am a newbie RV'er and I bought my RV in July in Florida and I am now in N California. I never tried the heat and found out it doesnt work. Come to find out someone had moved the thermostat to a different wall and ran new wires to the ceiling unit and didnt bother to extend and route the furnace wires to that location.(see pics) I am going to route those wires to the new location and I want to upgrade thermostat to a digital backlit one. I bought the Orbit model#83521(I bought it from Amazon and read the reviews, multiple RV owners have installed this one). I also found that my Coleman Mach 3+ ceiling unit has the provision for the optional heating coil. I picked this up as well. I need help with the wiring of all of these into my RV. Please see the pics and help me towards a fix.

*update: someone taped off of power (12vdc) and ground behind the fridge and brought that up the the T-stat.coming out of the wall, I now have a red and white from the furnace. A green, gray, white, yellow and blue in a harness the goes up to the ceiling unit and a power and ground from up behing the fridge. I would've just moved the T-stat back to the original wall but the original small harness(green,yellow,red,blue) is nowhere to be found in the ceiling unit.Click image for larger version

Name:	20190112_135150.jpeg
Views:	211
Size:	75.9 KB
ID:	15077Click image for larger version

Name:	20190112_135234.jpeg
Views:	214
Size:	58.7 KB
ID:	15078Click image for larger version

Name:	20190112_133712_HDR.jpeg
Views:	237
Size:	115.6 KB
ID:	15079Click image for larger version

Name:	20190112_150958.jpeg
Views:	220
Size:	85.1 KB