Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Modifications and Updates
Click Here to Login

Old 12-31-2015, 08:17 PM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Tuscany XTE 36MQ
State: Colorado
THOR #1497
Dash Cam?

Anyone using one? Is it facing forward only or have you added cameras to capture side and rear views?

We purchased a Tuscany XTE (36mq) last year and I'm a tad paranoid when driving it down the road. I'm a careful driver in the RV but worry about others causing an accident involving me. It seems as though cameras (and recordings) are a way to protect yourself in the event of an accident....or prove you are the guilty one!

Any recommendations on brands, setup, etc?

Thanks,

Old 12-31-2015, 09:30 PM   #2

Model: Class C / Chateau 31L
State: Iowa
THOR #1763
We have one in our front but thinking about getting one for the rear. I figure if you are in a different state than your own and it it's a situation of my word vs a local, well it would be good to have proof.
Old 12-31-2015, 11:44 PM   #3

State: North Carolina
THOR #2992
Dash Cam

I have a Garmin dash cam up front. Ya never know these days.
UP 4306
Old 01-01-2016, 12:16 AM   #4

Model: Chateau 35SF
State: Missouri
THOR #2020
I don't have one but after reading this post I might look into getting one. Not only for the RV but there are a lot of times out on the highway I would like to have one just so I can prove that what I saw is really what I saw.
Old 01-01-2016, 09:12 AM   #5

Model: Hurricane 27K
State: Nevada
THOR #970
ebay some really cheap ones
Old 01-01-2016, 04:37 PM   #6

Model: Axis
State: Michigan
THOR #2614
We purchased a garmin, mainly because you can take it off the dash and take photos with it. A bit more expensive than some but it seems to do a really good job. Recently bought 2 32 gig. SD cards from Costco so I can save more travel photos with the dashcam