Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Modifications and Updates
Click Here to Login

Old 05-31-2016, 06:50 PM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: California
THOR #4409
Modifications Satellite and External Storage

Hi all. Admitted rank newbie here. 2 different questions.

1st.
Satellite? We have a dish account at home already and know I can pull the receiver and take it with.

Question Roof mount auto? Or portable auto? Will roof mount work while driving down the road or is this a stationary thing only?

Sales guy said most people are moving away from roof mounts to the portable tri-pod. True?

2nd.

Love the coach Gemini 23, but it's a bit limited in storage. Thinking of doing a couple of storage pods on top. The Gemini has a rear projecting slide out so ladder would (probably?) go on the side.

Anyone with experience in getting on top of a Gemini?

THANKS

Cuthahotha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2016, 07:04 PM   #2

Model: Axis 24.1
State: Georgia
THOR #1123
Steve,

Welcome.

I can pretty much answer your first question but no help on the 2nd one.

A roof mount won't help you watch TV while you're traveling down the road. Can't track the satellite positioning in the SSW sky.

I have a Dish Tailgater and it works pretty well if there aren't any trees or other obstruction within the satellite LOS. With it being portable, I can move it around the campsite to get the best view, whereas; with a roof mount you're at the mercy of where your MH is parked.
Old 05-31-2016, 07:42 PM   #3

THOR #4409
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry View Post
with a roof mount you're at the mercy of where your MH is parked.
Larry, that's the reason the sales guy gave. Makes sense and if it won't work while drive then that's the smart way.

Thanks for the quick reply.
Old 05-31-2016, 08:52 PM   #4
EV2

Model: Tiburon
State: Arizona
THOR #1264