Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Modifications and Updates
Click Here to Login

Old 02-26-2019, 01:56 AM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: New Jersey
THOR #13952
Steering Stabilizer on a Class C, 27’ Recommended? What has been your experience?

Hello everyone. I’m a newbie.

I’m looking to buy my first RV, a 2011 Four Winds 25C this week.

After all my research, it sounds as if one of the best modifications you can make is a steering stabilizer.

My question: On a 27’ class C, does a steering stabilizer make that much of a difference?

I’ve studied the excellent “Safe-T-Plus Vs. Roadmaster Steering Stabilizer” post, so understand the difference between the two. I’d just like to hear from others what their experience has been, and if on a small/medium class C if it’s a worthwhile investment.

Thanks in advance!

Old 02-26-2019, 02:18 AM   #2

Model: Gemini 23TR
State: California
THOR #6701
The first thing is to drive it awhile and see if you need better steering or better stability or both or neither. If it's 8 years old it may already have added stabilization. Good luck and happy camping
Old 02-26-2019, 03:50 AM   #3

Model: Four Winds 31E (2019)
THOR #12270
On my first trip, the steering was horrible on my 2 month old coach. Steering went from 10 to 2 o'clock without moving the rig. 2nd trip 4 months after first, I put the tires to the PSI's on the door frame and it made a world of difference. now it was maybe 11:30 to 12:30. the front tires had ~50 psi in them and the rear dulies had ~60 = both front and back were ~20 psi low. honestly looking back, I can't believe i put just shy of 1000 miles on underinflated tires.

TL;DR... sometimes the small things matter a lot more than the expensive things.
Old 02-26-2019, 01:18 PM   #4

Model: Freedom Elite 29fe
State: Florida
THOR #4656