Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Modifications and Updates
Click Here to Login

Old 03-12-2017, 05:11 PM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 37TB
State: Connecticut
THOR #6757
Thor 37TB In-Motion Satellite cost

Hey guys newbie here that should be taking delivery of a new 37TB in about a week or so.

So I have been researching satellites and think I have it narrowed down to a in-motion Wineguard T4 (Just want the satellite while the wheels are turning. Wife's rule of no TV goes into effect once parked) on Direct TV services (Direct TV because all non-HD programing come from one satellite opposed to HD from one of three satellites thus limiting my viewing to one channel while on the road).

So I received a quote from a dealer recommended installer and with all the surge protectors, mirroring TVs, and equipment his price is just over $2600.00

To me this sounds high as I was told the install is minimal. Looking to see what others have spent in the past on install.

Thanks in advance for all the advice!!!!

Old 03-12-2017, 06:39 PM   #2

Model: Hurricane 31S
State: Texas
THOR #6411
Might mention than DirectV Ku signals are scheduled to disappear in 2019 as the DT-4 satellite runs out of station keeping fuel. All other DT satellites will transmit on the Ka and reverse band. In fact the new DT-15 satellite was just moved into position in the 103 galaxy. Using the Ka band of frequencies allows the satellites to be located as close as 2 degrees and still transmit on the same frequency as opposed to the 4 degree separation for Ku satellites. DirectV owns all the broadcast right for the entire Ka band in the USA so if you want in-motion satellite service Dish is you only long term solution.
Beau388 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2017, 07:50 PM   #3

Model: Challenger 37TB
State: Kentucky
THOR #1020