Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Community Forums > Thor RV Lifestyle
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-08-2019, 05:54 PM   #1
Kbs
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Quantum pd31
State: Florida
Posts: 26
THOR #12223
Remote home router reset

Hi
Anyone come up with a method to restart home router while on the road? Ours lost power and didnít come up nicely. The modem is up but the router is doa...
Is there a router brand that allows remote start without .... the router ..?.
We have cameras and other home security items connected, but now no connection... thoughts from the community are appreciated
__________________

__________________
Kbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2019, 06:11 PM   #2
I Think We're Lost!
 
Bob Denman's Avatar
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
State: New York
Posts: 9,220
THOR #8860
Is there anybody back at home, that has the keys to your place? Perhaps they could go in, and you could talk them through the process...
Good luck!
__________________

__________________
Good Sam Member 843599689
FMCA Member F473304

Current coach: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
Former coach: Thor Outlaw 29-H
Bob Denman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2019, 11:27 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
State: Arizona
Posts: 10
THOR #14192
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kbs View Post
Hi

Anyone come up with a method to restart home router while on the road? Ours lost power and didnít come up nicely. The modem is up but the router is doa...

Is there a router brand that allows remote start without .... the router ..?.

We have cameras and other home security items connected, but now no connection... thoughts from the community are appreciated


Best to have it on a really good backup supply. The problem is you donít have internet connectivity to remotely access any device that would remotely start it. If the router is down your access is off. You could have redundant routers and internet connections but that is costly. Only cheap option would be to put a timer on the power supply and have it shut off and restart every day. The problem with power outages and electronics is usually the quick power off then on which can corrupt settings. Brownouts are also bad. Either way just make sure you have a good ups on your electronics to avoid this.
__________________
mjbenedict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2019, 11:43 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
sage's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Vegas 25.2
State: Florida
Posts: 173
THOR #6999
Send a message via Skype™ to sage
A good UPS is your best bet but sometimes even that wonít do the job. Three years ago, we had a bad ĎNoríeaster hit our town in Maine and we lost power for over 24 hours. My UPS kept everything up for about 8 hours but that was it.

I had a friend go over and try to reboot the router but it just wouldnít sync back up. We tried for about two hours and tried everything we could think of. No Joy. We finally gave up and he left, but he left with everything powered on. Two months later, we had another power outage and that did the trick. Donít ask me what changed in the ensuing 2 months but something did.
__________________
sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2019, 01:18 AM   #5
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 31D
State: Virginia
Posts: 45
THOR #5638
I fault with Linksis, TPLink, NetGear, D-Link hardware and pretty much lost the battle every time. Had enough of firmware updates that would dump configuration or brick the unit, port forwarding configurations that were obscenely difficult to set up, inability to maintain design data flow and bandwidth, slowly loosing WiFi range and bandwidth and so on. In other words I had enough.

(Que the storm clouds parting, golden rays of sunshine, a rainbow bow in the distances with butterflies and throw in a unicorn)

And then I got an Apple AirPort Extreme and life has been good ever since. Closing on the third year of service and not one hiccup, drop out, programming failure, nothing. It justs sits there and performs day after day. Power losses have never been a problem. It boots right up like nothing happened once power is restored. I can stream on as many devices as I want along with multiple HD security cameras, a network DVR and network storage server that we can access remotely, Fire Sticks all over the place and everything always works.

One word of caution, you have to have some type of Apple device to configure it. Be it a Mac, iPad or iPhone. The configuration application no long supports a Windows environment (go figure). I also have two AirPort Express routers hardwired to the Extreme that I use to extend the wireless network. Older home with real 1/2" think plaster walls (and probably leaded glass windows). WiFi doesn't carry real well to all parts of the homestead.

Apple stuff ain't cheap but it always seems to work. My router was refurbished so about half the price as new but still a chunk of my disposable budget for the month. But well worth it.
__________________
2006 Hurricane 31D built on a 2006 Ford F53
Sweetbriar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2019, 09:36 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
sage's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Vegas 25.2
State: Florida
Posts: 173
THOR #6999
Send a message via Skype™ to sage
Sweetbriar, unfortunately Apple has discontinued all of its router products. In the future I'd suggest that you check out the Synology routers. Like Apple, they are expensive but they work. And work well. Alternatively, Amazon's eero mesh routers are also pretty good.
__________________
sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2019, 10:09 AM   #7
Member
 
PAtrailtrimmer's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 27.7
State: Pennsylvania
Posts: 41
THOR #12085
I use the timer solution and have the router reboot daily at 1 am. Another possible solution if you are an Xfinity/Comcast subscriber is to reboot router via xfinity website.
__________________
Thor Axis 27.7
PA
PAtrailtrimmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2019, 11:11 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
16ACE27's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
Posts: 2,289
THOR #7035
Quote:
Originally Posted by PAtrailtrimmer View Post
I use the timer solution and have the router reboot daily at 1 am. Another possible solution if you are an Xfinity/Comcast subscriber is to reboot router via xfinity website.
Yep - external timer is the solution.
__________________
The USER Formally Known As TFryman
Ted & Melinda
2016 ACE 27.1
2016 Chevy Sonic Toad
16ACE27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2019, 03:29 AM   #9
Kbs
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Quantum pd31
State: Florida
Posts: 26
THOR #12223
Router

Hi
Thought about the daily reboot option. Might try a device that pings the internet and if it gets no response shuts down power and restarts. Found it on amazon. Msnswitch.
Thanks for the input
K
__________________

__________________
Kbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 04:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2