Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Brands and Products > DRV Luxury Suites
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-14-2018, 04:30 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Brand: DRV
Model: 41RSSB3
State: South Dakota
Posts: 143
Gen Transfer Switch

I have read much about the switch but I have been unable to find the thing.
I found the surge protector and the inverter but the switch eludes me.
__________________

__________________
George

2015 Mobile Suites 41RSSB4
2011 F350 Dually
Fulltimer50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2018, 05:15 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Brand: DRV
Model: 36RSSB3
State: Texas
Posts: 197
I thought I read something about it being back behind the heater/duct work. Maybe it varies per floor plan.

Hope this thread does not go the way of the last one........
__________________

__________________
2017 Chevy 3500 DRW 4X4 CC LWB D/A
2016 Mobile Suites 36RSSB3
Comfort Ride 245 Hitch
Hunter11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2018, 05:26 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Florida
Posts: 706
IIRC on my Vegas, it is the first switch after the power entrance to your RV. IOW, trace where the wires at the power receptacle on the outside lead to and you may find the switch. It could be different on yours though. Also, you can have Thor send you some wiring diagrams which may help.
Oh yeah, when you do find it, check and make sure all connections are tight.
__________________
MR 2015 Thor Vegas 24.1 in Ocala
mcr1010 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2018, 05:27 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Brand: DRV
Model: 41RSSB3
State: South Dakota
Posts: 143
Sounds like I could better go in through the panel next to the circuit breaker panel.
__________________
George

2015 Mobile Suites 41RSSB4
2011 F350 Dually
Fulltimer50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2018, 05:35 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Brand: DRV
Model: Mobile Suites 38rssa
State: Michigan
Posts: 101
Very good ?. I'll be waiting on the answers!
__________________
2017 F350 CC 4x4 DRW Lariat 4.10
2018 MS 38rssa
f350ms38rssa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2018, 06:37 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Brand: DRV
Model: 41RSSB3
State: South Dakota
Posts: 143
Nothing but wires behind the blank panel next to the CB box.

I have the surge/power control system. Three cables at the box. I figure 1 input from the pedestal, 1 input from the gen, and one out to the circuit breaker panel. I dont have the dreaded transfer switch.
Thats my story and Im sticking to it.
__________________
George

2015 Mobile Suites 41RSSB4
2011 F350 Dually
Fulltimer50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2018, 06:46 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
rynosback's Avatar
 
Brand: DRV
Model: 38 RSB3
State: South Dakota
Posts: 856
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hunter11 View Post

Hope this thread does not go the way of the last one........
I agree...

One thing that is great about forums is that you can get different angles of thinking about issues. I have learned a lot from seeing 2 different sides. But people should premise if it is there understanding or opinion on how things work. Maybe someone did not articulate what they wanted to say correctly. It is OK to be on a soapbox as long as you know when to come down. Somethings are better said in PMs vs on the open board. I just hate to see threads locked vs cleaned up if need be with PMs being sent from the mods, admins. Sorry for the rant.
I hope some good information and answers come out now.
__________________
2016 DRV 38RSB3
2015 Ram 3500 Regular Cab DRW CTD Asian trans 410 rear

If you have nothing constructive or nice to say, just keep it to yourself. Any other reply will show your true colors.
rynosback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2018, 02:09 PM   #8
Member
 
Brand: Heartland
Model: 39DBRS3 03/15/18 buid
State: New Jersey
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fulltimer50 View Post
I have read much about the switch but I have been unable to find the thing.
I found the surge protector and the inverter but the switch eludes me.
“Gen transfer switch”

Are you referring to the optional generator prep package with the transfer switch ?

If so, there is no “switch”

The transfer switch is a set of relays in a box in the basement.

Two power sources in, shore power or generator.

The switch then transfer your RV’’s panel input based on your power source.

If on shore power, that relay allows power through.
If on generator the switch automatically transfers to generator as the generator has priority.

And if you have one, the lugs on the relays are something that should be checked for proper torque.
Porthole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2018, 03:19 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Brand: DRV
Model: 41RSSB3
State: South Dakota
Posts: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by Porthole View Post
“Gen transfer switch”

Are you referring to the optional generator prep package with the transfer switch ?

If so, there is no “switch”

The transfer switch is a set of relays in a box in the basement.

Two power sources in, shore power or generator.

The switch then transfer your RV’’s panel input based on your power source.

If on shore power, that relay allows power through.
If on generator the switch automatically transfers to generator as the generator has priority.

And if you have one, the lugs on the relays are something that should be checked for proper torque.
__________________
George

2015 Mobile Suites 41RSSB4
2011 F350 Dually
Fulltimer50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2018, 05:31 PM   #10
Member
 
Brand: DRV
Model: 39DBRS3
State: Arizona
Posts: 94
One thing I have always been warned about both during or 30 years of sailing and now with our DRV is not to it the switch with a heavy load when hooking up. I was told that if I plugged in to power with both a/c's on, the water heater on, l and the batteries charging it puts quite a heavy instantaneous load on the relays which can cause them to fail. I always turn it all off when we move and turn items on one at a time after hooking up to power.
Bobi, Dick and Ruby McKee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 03:39 AM   #11
Junior Member
 
cloud william's Avatar
 
Brand: DRV
Model: MS 38RSSA
State: Washington
Posts: 29
We found our automatic transfer switch between the furnace on the curb side and the house water filter on the street side. It is hard to see unless you remove the central vacuum system. We have a 2016 38RSSA and ours is not equipped with the Iota switch which has had problems. Ours is the Surge Guard unit which includes an automatic transfer switch built in. DRV put the furnace return air duct right over the top of the Surge Guard box, and it was torn and damaged because it was so squished in there. We fixed it with some duct tape, but we had to remove the vacuum system to get to it. We wouldn't have noticed it if we hadn't looked for the auto transfer switch brought up in this thread.
__________________
2016 MS 38RSSA
2015 RAM 3500 Limited DRW Cummins 6.7L Aisen 4.10 Axle
cloud william is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 01:51 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
wingnut60's Avatar
 
Brand: DRV
State: Texas
Posts: 254
" It is hard to see unless you remove the central vacuum system. We have a 2016 38RSSA"

Exactly as our '15RSSA is, and as our '05TK3 was. The central vac needs to be out of the way to access the transfer switch on these and I believe it is the same on the other models. And getting the vac out wasn't easy on mine...
__________________

__________________
2015 38RSSA now it's our home
2005 36TK3--retired, but it was a good one
2017 F450 KR
wingnut60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by



ThorForums.com is not in any way associated with Thor Industries or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2