Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Community Forums > Introduce Yourself | Say Hello
Click Here to Login

Old 07-23-2017, 02:54 AM   #1

Brand: Still Looking
State: California
THOR #8447
New Forum Member - Windsport 31S

Hello!

My wife and I are mid forties professionals. I work in finance and she's a school administrator. We live in Southern California.

We are known as DINCs... That is double income no kids. We have four cats that are adorable members of our family.

We enjoy off-roading in my 2013 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon (built up on 37", armor, axles, etc)

We dry camp about 50% of the time. We currently have a 2014 Lance 1575 Travel Trailer that we love but we've simply outgrown it.

We are looking at a new 2017/2018 Windsport 31S. (Also considering a Thor Quantum WS31). I'd love any feedback people have had with this coach... Such as:

1) Problems - What were they and how was it resolved
2) Things that you would do differently
3) Ride/Drive quality
4) Experience with a Toad and a 31S

I test drove a Windsport 29M today. It was my first experience driving a Class A. I didn't feel nervous or scared and felt it was no more difficult than towing our Lance. That being said I did feel that the steering was "soft" and some what unresponsive. It also felt like it had some body roll. The sales rep stated that with a completely unloaded RV it would have more roll than if it was loaded up.

We negotiated price on an 31S but I didn't know if it was a fair deal and so we ended up not buying. The 31S was offered to us at $105,000 ($25,000 off MSRP). We had already seen the same model for $92,135 @ La Mesa RV. We shared this with the sales rep and they countered that they couldn't go that low but offered $93,160. They told us that their dealership doesn't have any Dealer Prep fees whereas La Mesa charges between $800-1200 for the dealer prep.