Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Community Forums > Thor Owners Community Discussions
Click Here to Login

Old 11-21-2019, 12:24 AM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Florida
THOR #17402
AUTO setting not switching to propane on fridge

Hi, I am a newbie 2015 Thor Freedom Elite 22E owner. I bought the RV used with 19,000 miles on it. Seems to be clean and in great shape. I did the walkthrough with Camping world tech and drove it home by myself thru down town Tampa rush hour traffic (proud moment) I parked the RV after making sure that everything was tucked in and turned off. The next day I couldn’t get the AUTO setting to run the fridge on propane. Then I couldn’t get the lights or anything else to work and we figured out that the RV battery wasn’t holding a charge. After I replaced the RV battery, the lights now work and the problem seems resolved. I am now out on my first trip and I can’t seen to get the heating unit to work, There was no owner’s manual with the unit so I am at a loss to figure this out. Does the ac unit in the ceiling also serve as the heat source because there is a dial that shows a blue/cold and a red/heat setting? The stove does light so I know that the propane is on, at least for the stove. Please help, I can’t believe that I just bought this and I’m already having problems .

Old 11-21-2019, 12:23 PM   #2

Model: Freedom Elite 29fe
THOR #4656
Wow! First off you need 12v to do most anything with propane. The refer needs it to ignite and control the propane. Your water heater needs it for the same reason. No the A/C is not your heater unless it has heat strips to provide auxiliary heat, doubtful in your rig. . Blue/red is only a suggestion as to where to set the relative temp. You should have a heater. It too will need 12v and propane.

2017 Freedom Elite 29fe
2015 Jeep Wrangler Toad