Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Community Forums > Thor Owners Community Discussions
Click Here to Login

Old 08-25-2019, 07:49 PM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Four Winds
State: New Hampshire
THOR #16319
propane on while driving

I am new to this whole RVing thing and I am wondering about a few things. I have heard different things and I'm here to ask you all this.

1) While driving our Class C Thor Four Winds motor home can we leave the propane on so the food in the fridge doesn't go bad or should we be running the generator instead? (Confused)

2) If we pull into a Walmart to sleep for the night, do I need the engine running to start the generator?

Old 08-25-2019, 07:57 PM   #2
Axis/Vegas Enthusiast

Model: Axis 24.4
State: Michigan
THOR #1150
1) You're going to get answers all over the place here. Yes you can leave the propane on so you can keep the fridge cold (in reality you could turn off the fridge and, as long as you don't open it, your food will still be reasonably cold after a 3-5 hour drive). Many people will say leave the propane off while on the road period and others will say drive it without issue. Personally: We use the propane while on the road and turn off the fridge when at a gas pump--just remember to turn the fridge back on once you've left the pump.

2) Nope don't need the engine on at all to start the genny. Especially if you've been driving all day and your coach is wired correctly (typically the alternator will charge both the chassis and the house batteries).
JamieGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2019, 09:21 PM   #3

Model: Chateau 31L
State: Florida
THOR #12189
Quote:
Originally Posted by JamieGeek View Post