Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Community Forums > Travel | Camping Spots | Roads and Routes
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 05-11-2018, 07:42 PM   #21

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Colorado
THOR #7468
We almost never have hookups and typically camp 2-4 nights. I have an extra 6 gallon container of water as that is usually the only item we run short on.

Just a little suggestion, go somewhere that you "could" plug in, but don't. Practice boondocking and learn your habits and usage. It is a lot less nerve wracking of an experience knowing you have the resources to bail you out if you didn't use your resources judiciously.

Old 05-11-2018, 08:39 PM   #22

State: Alabama
THOR #6446
Quote:
Originally Posted by glennrush View Post
Im new to this folks. Wow!! Finding sites can be difficult, RVing has become so popular that the best places fill up sometimes 12 months in advance

My questions is Ive found some nice state parks but they have no hookups. What do people generally do about running the refrigerators and other electrical stuff in the motor home under these circumstances. Don't really want to run the generator all the time, too much noise and gas.
I have found that my fresh tank, black tank and vegas stock coach batteries easily last a long weekend. If we want to watch a movie, we just watch on the dash player.... We last stayed in a NFS campground that limited gen use to 3 hours between 6am and 10 pm....I don't like running gen in cg ran it only for hair curler . I drink instant coffee when boondocking.
Safe_t_Plus, Spare mount underneath
Dynamat Extreme / Hoodliner Doghouse Treatment
2016vegas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2018, 09:43 PM   #23

Brand: Still Looking
Model: SOB
State: South Dakota
THOR #3916
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2016vegas View Post