Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Community Forums > Travel | Camping Spots | Roads and Routes
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 10-26-2015, 05:38 PM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2013 Chateau 28Z
State: Arizona
THOR #3071
Survey: GPS systems

Hi, as I am new to the rv world, and lovin it, I am preparing for a cross country trip in the late spring. I am not sure where to begin to map a route, but I really want to invest in a RV GPS system, not sure which one would be the best? Can you please tell me, which one you like and the pros and cons of it? Is it easy to hook up? etc. Anything would help.

Am also interested in any "materials" that you feel are a MUST HAVE. Maps, Books, etc.

I would greatly appreciate it.

Old 10-26-2015, 06:59 PM   #2

Model: 2015 Hurricane 34 J
State: Ohio
THOR #1295
We have a Garmin and it does an OK job - only thing is it does not know we are driving a 35 foot RV with a car in tow and leads us down some pretty narrow roads at times.

I look at the road first prior to turning and simply let the system reroute till I get to a road I feel is wide enough!
2019 Honda Accord 2.0T Sport 6 speed manual
(THOR)
Nursx2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2015, 07:01 PM   #3

Model: Aria 3901
State: New Mexico
THOR #2538
I use a Garmin 720RV GPS, stores your RV data (size, height, weight, etc), has good database with POI and lifetime free map updates. My 2 cents.

NMRVer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2015, 07:12 PM   #4
Axis/Vegas Enthusiast

Model: Axis 24.4
State: Michigan
THOR #1150
We usually use a tablet and related apps (Apple Maps, Google Maps, etc.). In addition I have iExit, KOA, myPilot, and Camping World apps installed.
(I find the iExit app really useful--no affiliation; just a happy user.)
JamieGeek is offline   Reply With Quote