Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Maintenance and Repair
Click Here to Login

Old 10-02-2018, 12:43 PM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: A.C.E. 30.1
State: North Carolina
THOR #2408
Steps making ratcheting sound

When the steps fully extend there is a loud ratcheting sound that lasts a couple of seconds (seems like five minutes ��). Any thoughts?

Old 10-02-2018, 04:01 PM   #2

Model: ACE 27.1
State: Virginia
THOR #7607
Mine is doing that too. I'll keep checking to see what you find.
Old 10-02-2018, 06:29 PM   #3

THOR #2408
What do they say about "misery? ��
Old 10-03-2018, 01:58 PM   #4

Model: 2013 ACE 30.1
State: Alberta
THOR #2631
It seems like no one is touching this one so lets stir the pot with some speculation....since I am not a step expert in any way. We will assume that the chassis battery (which powers the steps typically) is fully charged and that the step ground connection and connector is clean and solid too.