Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Maintenance and Repair
Click Here to Login

Old 08-03-2019, 01:32 AM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: California
THOR #16214
AC Shore Power Disappeared.

Hi all. I am new to the forum. Hope I am posting in the right place.
I have a 1997 Thor Pinnacle 35' with slideout. I am replacing the rubber roof. Worked first day, tear off, all good. Second day worked again and came inside. No AC. I'm a mechanic so I can generally figure things out. I did not disturb any wiring. Had AC into the fuse box red, black and white depending on where I place my ground lead. I searched all over and could not find anything amiss. But no ac out of the breaker box.(breakers all ohmed good) So I went to the last receptacle on the circuit. I made a cable with plugins at both ends. Placed one into a fused strip and the other into the receptacle. All the power to the rv front came on and batteries started charging. Went to the bath and reversed the wires to the gfi., because now the power comes from the opposite direction. All the rest of the ac started working with fridge, micro and receptacles. I went outside and measured voltage at the shore power plugin.(with no power plugged in). It is live. The whole circuit is working all the way back out to the plug. I would like to run the power the right direction again. Anybody know what the heck might be going on? Maybe the transfer switch? Which I have no idea where it is. Appreciate any help or tips. Thank you, Robert

Old 08-03-2019, 01:34 AM   #2

THOR #16214
Just to clarify, by AC I mean 115v shore power.
Old 08-03-2019, 01:38 AM   #3
Site Team

Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
THOR #7035
Troubleshooting with a suicide cord? That's different.