Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Maintenance and Repair
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-01-2018, 03:45 PM   #1
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Palazzo 33.2
State: Georgia
Posts: 66
THOR #8078
All dash instruments suddenly died

Hello, On my 2014 Thor Palazzo all of my dash instruments suddenly died. The ammeter, tachometer, speedometer, gas gauge and PSI dials all stay at zero. The warning lights all come on as they should. The fuses are intact. It's like a computer chip froze. Can it be rebooted in some way? Removing the fuse did not work.
__________________

__________________
rudyhehn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2018, 04:56 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 24.1
State: Florida
Posts: 611
THOR #4366
You may have to remove a lead from the battery to force a computer reboot.
__________________

__________________
2016 Axis 24.1 E-450 6 spd tranny
300 watts portable solar.
200 watts solar on the roof.
Wrangler JK dinghy
scrubjaysnest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2018, 05:08 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
16ACE27's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
Posts: 2,890
THOR #7035
Or check for a loose connection. If it was a computer problem the engine would probably be dead as well.
__________________
The USER Formally Known As TFryman
Ted & Melinda
2016 ACE 27.1
2016 Chevy Sonic Toad
16ACE27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2018, 09:19 PM   #4
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Palazzo 33.2
State: Georgia
Posts: 66
THOR #8078
I'll try getting in the dash and unplugging the entire instrument cluster from the power supply. The RV starts and runs normally though the instruments do not show RPM, oil pressure, temperature, etc. Transmission shifter indication is normal as are all warning lights.
__________________
rudyhehn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2018, 09:36 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Four Winds 31E (2019)
State: California
Posts: 240
THOR #12270
if you can get the back of the cluster off, see if the black chips get hot. plug it in turn it on and let it sit about a minute.

best way would be to look at it with a thermal camera but not every one has one. carefully feel each black chip. they will be eather cool to burning hot (as in cant put your finger on it more than a second.) if you have a burning chip that could be the reason.
__________________
Diemaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2018, 02:02 AM   #6
Axis/Vegas Enthusiast
 
JamieGeek's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 24.1
State: Michigan
Posts: 8,139
THOR #1150
Everything is networked these days; could be a single CAN signal cable loose or disconnected would kill the whole dash.
__________________
2014 Thor Axis 24.1
2018 Chevy Bolt
blog - https://spareelectrons.wordpress.com/
JamieGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2018, 02:28 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Brand: Still Looking
State: Arkansas
Posts: 4
THOR #11737
Not an RV, but we had a similar issue in our Tundra. Cruise would kick off at random, cluster lights would go off, and gauges would all drop to zero.

Our mechanic said we had to have a loose or corroded ground connection somewhere. Turns out that the cable on the negative post was very slightly loose, with a little corrosion beneath it. We cleaned both terminals and tightened them. Seems to have done the trick. He said that there could be other ground connections to the frame as well - we just got lucky that ours was in an easily accessible place.

Probably not at all what is wrong with yours, but something else to check if everything else turns into a dead end.
__________________
avid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2018, 01:51 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Cason61's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 34F
State: Oklahoma
Posts: 628
THOR #8432
Quote:
Originally Posted by avid View Post
Not an RV, but we had a similar issue in our Tundra. Cruise would kick off at random, cluster lights would go off, and gauges would all drop to zero.

Our mechanic said we had to have a loose or corroded ground connection somewhere. Turns out that the cable on the negative post was very slightly loose, with a little corrosion beneath it. We cleaned both terminals and tightened them. Seems to have done the trick. He said that there could be other ground connections to the frame as well - we just got lucky that ours was in an easily accessible place.

Probably not at all what is wrong with yours, but something else to check if everything else turns into a dead end.
Yeah, the Engine has a ground and the frame has a ground. Used to be the engine mounts were the ground to frame but long time ago when I was in my first car, the engine started but there was no dash lights to see the speedo. Got that fixed before my next speeding ticket.
__________________
Cason61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2018, 09:14 PM   #9
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Palazzo 33.2
State: Georgia
Posts: 66
THOR #8078
Update- I checked all the connections and did not find anything loose. After recharging and equalizing the house batteries I restarted the coach and magically the gauges all work again. Next time I'll find an old priest and try an exorcism.
__________________
rudyhehn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2019, 09:30 PM   #10
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Palazzo 33.2
State: Georgia
Posts: 66
THOR #8078
Intermittent instrument cluster malfunction

After months of losing my dash instruments intermittently, it became permanent. I called the Freightliner rep and he did a valiant job of helping me work through the problem. We tested the dash warning light bar computer console by pushing the computer toggle switch to the right and holding for 5 seconds. This activates a diagnostic menu. It showed none of my instruments were receiving a computer signal from the dash computer. I bought a new warning light bar/dash computer - expensive. Bad news - the instruments worked, but not consistently. The idiot lights all work, the odometer works, but instruments only on and off. Then I had an idea. I disconnected the wiring harness from the output side of the warning light bar/dash computer, removed one of the daisy chain wires that connects one instrument to the next, and reconnected this new wire so that it went from the computer to the tachometer. Viola - it worked the tach. Did the same to the fuel gauge - it worked. It turns out the wiring harness that ran from the computer to the instruments had a short. I replaced the harness and so far so good.
__________________

__________________
rudyhehn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 03:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
×