Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Maintenance and Repair
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-20-2019, 03:36 AM   #1
Member
 
jbwilli1's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 32.1 ACE
State: Texas
Posts: 66
THOR #14323
Axxera GPS

I see threads with problems with cameras & connections, but can't find any with gps specific.


I have 2019 Thor 32.1 Axerra AVM111NAVLH gps continues looking for satellites without success. CW tech said it worked for him, I'm wondering if he thought when it powered up, it works.


I've read what little literatrue that came with the coach, downloaded a manual form Axxera website (no help), emailed customer service which was returned unknown user. Tried to access another Axerra page & got Page 404 error.


I've changed every setting, country, state, etc. nothing helps.


Ideas or fixes greatly appreciated & if I'm dumb & not working it correctly, instructions would be wonderful.
__________________

__________________
jbwilli1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2019, 02:46 PM   #2
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: New Jersey
Posts: 85
THOR #8931
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbwilli1 View Post
I see threads with problems with cameras & connections, but can't find any with gps specific.


I have 2019 Thor 32.1 Axerra AVM111NAVLH gps continues looking for satellites without success. CW tech said it worked for him, I'm wondering if he thought when it powered up, it works.


I've read what little literatrue that came with the coach, downloaded a manual form Axxera website (no help), emailed customer service which was returned unknown user. Tried to access another Axerra page & got Page 404 error.


I've changed every setting, country, state, etc. nothing helps.


Ideas or fixes greatly appreciated & if I'm dumb & not working it correctly, instructions would be wonderful.
I have a 2018 37rb that had the same problem when I got it brand new. I told Thor that it wasn't working and they sent me a new SM card. When the new SM card was installed the GPS worked fine. I hope this helps
__________________

__________________
Hoser123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2019, 03:08 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
16ACE27's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
Posts: 3,104
THOR #7035
Generally, if a GPS can't find satellites, it's an antenna problem. Since it's a dash mount unit I would assume there should be an external antenna connected?
__________________
The USER Formally Known As TFryman
Ted & Melinda
2016 ACE 27.1
2016 Chevy Sonic Toad
16ACE27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 01:41 AM   #4
Member
 
jbwilli1's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 32.1 ACE
State: Texas
Posts: 66
THOR #14323
Quote:
Originally Posted by 16ACE27 View Post
Generally, if a GPS can't find satellites, it's an antenna problem. Since it's a dash mount unit I would assume there should be an external antenna connected?

The only antenna is on the roof, it's for the radio stations. It works well.


I wonder if hoser123 has an antenna on his roof?
__________________
jbwilli1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 01:56 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
16ACE27's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
Posts: 3,104
THOR #7035
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbwilli1 View Post
The only antenna is on the roof, it's for the radio stations. It works well.


I wonder if hoser123 has an antenna on his roof?
A remote GPS antenna could look like a little puck and possibly be built in to the top pf the dash.
__________________
The USER Formally Known As TFryman
Ted & Melinda
2016 ACE 27.1
2016 Chevy Sonic Toad
16ACE27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 04:32 AM   #6
Member
 
jbwilli1's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 32.1 ACE
State: Texas
Posts: 66
THOR #14323
Quote:
Originally Posted by 16ACE27 View Post
A remote GPS antenna could look like a little puck and possibly be built in to the top pf the dash.

I searched the entire interior, every nook/cranny/cabinets, drawers, then went up to the roof. Only thing on roof besides a/c & vents, is solar hookup, TV antenna & good time radio (above driver).


I'm wondering if the factory forgot to add it, they didn't connect the furnace & other errors.


Thanx to all for the help!
__________________
jbwilli1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 05:22 AM   #7
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: New Jersey
Posts: 85
THOR #8931
Quote:
Originally Posted by 16ACE27 View Post
A remote GPS antenna could look like a little puck and possibly be built in to the top pf the dash.
I don't know if I have an antenna or where it is located. How about the plug-in models where is their antenna?
__________________
Hoser123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 01:58 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Miramar 35.3
State: Florida
Posts: 185
THOR #6451
I've had nothing but problems with the Axxera GPS. I had the first one replaced on our Miramar. It would work for 30-40 minutes and then the screen would lock up. The only way to get it to work again was to use the "reset to default" option and that would wipe out all my radio settings.


The new one works better but still acts stupid. I store my motorhome in a metal garage. This confuses the GPS as it can't get a signal. When I pull out of the garage for a trip, I have to immediately turn on the GPS and let it find itself again. Sometimes after 10-15 minutes it works fine. Most of the time it shows it sees multiple satellites but then when I start driving it shows I'm off the road and driving through lakes and fields. It will usually fix itself after 30 minutes of driving but sometimes it doesn't. A few times it didn't fix itself until we camped overnight and it was able to "find" itself. I also had one instance where it couldn't find any satellites. After a couple nights outside the garage, it fixed itself. I have just gotten used to the fact that it might work or it might not work. It always seems to work fine after being outside the garage for 24 hours. When it doesn't work I just use my iPhone. I have a suction stand for the iPhone that I just prop up on the top of the radio.
__________________
Metalgator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 02:21 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Aria 3901
State: Idaho
Posts: 351
THOR #9660
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbwilli1 View Post
I searched the entire interior, every nook/cranny/cabinets, drawers, then went up to the roof. Only thing on roof besides a/c & vents, is solar hookup, TV antenna & good time radio (above driver).


I'm wondering if the factory forgot to add it, they didn't connect the furnace & other errors.


Thanx to all for the help!
You might check the back of the head unit to see if the ant. cable is connected.
__________________
Vicki and Mike, Aria 3901- The Wined Up Bus
m1noel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 07:53 PM   #10
Member
 
jbwilli1's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 32.1 ACE
State: Texas
Posts: 66
THOR #14323
New info

Quote:
Originally Posted by m1noel View Post
You might check the back of the head unit to see if the ant. cable is connected.

I tried that, but can't get in behind the radio. On the top middle of the screen there looks like a latch of some sort that might let the screen remove. Tried it a little but was afraid I might break it.


Thor replied to my email asking about another card, they said no, call a Thor Tech. I did & was told the coach should have a wifi antenna (wifi ranger) & a GPS antenna, to call the dealer & tell them to fix it. There was a Thor wifi sticker on the dining table that said this is equipped with Wifi Ranger.



While I was under the dash, impossible position for an ol dude, I looked around AND found a puck that says GPS antenna! I pushed it up above the dash. It was looks like it was meant to be in the lower left corner.


Turned the radio on to see if that made a difference. It did, it told me no GPS map numerous times. I popped the sdcard out, plugged it back in & got a screen showing an executable file. It would let me do anything, by touch or remote.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	GPS.jpg
Views:	56
Size:	74.7 KB
ID:	15802  
__________________
jbwilli1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2019, 12:47 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: challenger 37FH
State: Delaware
Posts: 180
THOR #13399
Check on top left corner 4 buttons off/on, vol+,vol-,rear camera, then small hole that's the reset push a paper clip in there see if will reset.
__________________
wrapped is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2019, 03:55 PM   #12
Member
 
jbwilli1's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 32.1 ACE
State: Texas
Posts: 66
THOR #14323
Thanx

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrapped View Post
Check on top left corner 4 buttons off/on, vol+,vol-,rear camera, then small hole that's the reset push a paper clip in there see if will reset.

I found the hole, used 2 different size paper clips, didn't work. Seems like there's not a button in the hole to push. Arggghh!


Thor called me, I told them the details, they contacted CW who said bring it, they would fix it while I wait.



We're leaving on our first trip the next day, I think I'll wait until we get back. Just too much to do for my 1st excursion in the MH plus 1st time pulling a dolly.
__________________

__________________
jbwilli1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
axxera gps

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 07:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
×