Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Maintenance and Repair
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-07-2019, 12:47 AM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Kentucky
THOR #16261
Batteries not charging from any source

Hey everyone, I am a technician buy trade , and I understand that my batteries on my 2003 hurricane 33sl charge from land power , generator, and / or the alternator. When plugged to land my converter has 13.7 volts , the same when I run generator , but my batteries stay at 12.5 volts. When I start the engine , my chassis battery does not get a charge from the alternator ,neither does the coach batteries. I checked the alternator and it is putting out 14.5 volts. What am I missing that is causing none of my batteries to receive a charge . I'm a new owner and know nothing about an RV as far as how the system is set up. Thanks for any help.

Old 08-07-2019, 01:05 AM   #2
gmc

Model: Hurricane 32A
State: Florida
THOR #2829
Batteries not charging from any source

Quote:
Originally Posted by ironcolonel69 View Post
Hey everyone, I am a technician buy trade , and I understand that my batteries on my 2003 hurricane 33sl charge from land power , generator, and / or the alternator. When plugged to land my converter has 13.7 volts , the same when I run generator , but my batteries stay at 12.5 volts. When I start the engine , my chassis battery does not get a charge from the alternator ,neither does the coach batteries. I checked the alternator and it is putting out 14.5 volts. What am I missing that is causing none of my batteries to receive a charge . I'm a new owner and know nothing about an RV as far as how the system is set up. Thanks for any help.

Check the Use/Store switch on side wall along entry steps...