Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Maintenance and Repair
Click Here to Login

Old 12-03-2018, 05:25 PM   #1

Brand: Still Looking
State: North Carolina
THOR #13888
Cable hookup

Newbie here

Is any type of converter or box required for cable hookup at rv parks or just hook up direct? Had issues last night at park in Tampa.

Thanks

Old 12-03-2018, 06:24 PM   #2

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Georgia
THOR #4735
not normally, but if a park has changed to digital and requires a separate 'cable box' and remote, then you'll need those.

Cable connections are probably one of the most often and aggravating problem asked on this forum. While it seems 'easy' to just connect a coax cable between the shore Cable outlet and your RV, and then just magically receive all the cable channels, it's usually a lot more work than that.
You have to not only connect to the park's cable outlet, but also make sure your 'antenna booster' is OFF, the entertainment BOMB box is set to CABLE(if you have one of these boxes), set each TV input to CABLE, and then RESCAN each TV, to receive the channels.

If the park requires a box, then you must put their box between your coax cable and your TV, and use the supplied REMOTE to change the channels, after you change your TVs input and rescan the Channels, of course.

If you have a TV which does not have QAM built-in, you may have issues either way. Some on these forums have reported that some 'off brand' TVs do not.
TurnerFam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2018, 06:25 PM   #3

Model: 2014 Windsport 34f
State: Alabama
THOR #6507
Depends on the TV you are using. Some complaints have been made on the original TVs in Thor RVs.