Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Maintenance and Repair
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-25-2017, 11:09 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Dbadger777's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 25.2
State: Michigan
Posts: 128
Camera's intermittent.

Can someone tell me where the camera's plug into the Axxera radio. The camera's are in and out with each little bump. In fact as I went to back into our latest campsite, I realized that a slight thump on the side of the panel gets them working again. Sounds like a loose wire, but my big head won't go far enough under to see anything and I can't feel anything loose.
__________________

Dbadger777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2017, 12:41 AM   #2
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 25.2
State: New York
Posts: 66
Ours does the same thing, the camera switcher is located under the access panel above the instrument cluster and all three cameras connect there. My connections there where tight, but I occasionally reach up under the dash to the back of the radio and push on the connections which corrects the problem for a little while.
__________________

upnyfolks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2017, 04:14 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
gnach's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 25.4
State: California
Posts: 125
On other threads, it's been noted that the assembly line is a little hurried and connectors aren't quite tight. It would pay to give the wires a tug and wiggle. If loose, I'd cut off the existing crimp, strip and recrimp a new connector. I don't know if the cameras have separate ground wires but do check. It couldn't hurt to call Thor Customer Service, 8778552867, have your VIN ready.
gnach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2017, 04:26 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Whirnot's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Vegas 25.2
State: Oregon
Posts: 122
As stated above, there is a Camera box under the access panel. I just learned a bunch about it as I am installing a larger multi monitor. The cameras themselves are an aviation connector and if it is screwed in correctly is probably not your problem. The output wire goes to the Stereo head. The monitor wire is unused it has a short connector that isn't hooked up. The power in connector has a bunch of wires. They are actually, Power, ground, and the trigger wires that cause the screen to come on during reverse etc. I had some of those wires that we a little loose in the block. I would look there or on the back of the receiver. You can also remove the tray above the radio be lifting off the rubber pad and removing the two small screws under it.

Hope this helps
Whirnot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2017, 07:05 PM   #5
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: A.C.E. 30.2 Bunkhouse
State: Kentucky
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dbadger777 View Post
Can someone tell me where the camera's plug into the Axxera radio. The camera's are in and out with each little bump. In fact as I went to back into our latest campsite, I realized that a slight thump on the side of the panel gets them working again. Sounds like a loose wire, but my big head won't go far enough under to see anything and I can't feel anything loose.
EXACT same problem here, ACE 30.2. I too think it's a loose connection(s), but I'm not sure how to get in there to check. Anyone have a description (or even better, pictures) of how and where to get in there to check these connections? Thanks!
__________________
I'm blessed with a SPECTACULAR ability to tear stuff up...and lose a golf ball.
LockChuck92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2017, 11:48 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Dbadger777's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 25.2
State: Michigan
Posts: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whirnot View Post
As stated above, there is a Camera box under the access panel. I just learned a bunch about it as I am installing a larger multi monitor. The cameras themselves are an aviation connector and if it is screwed in correctly is probably not your problem. The output wire goes to the Stereo head. The monitor wire is unused it has a short connector that isn't hooked up. The power in connector has a bunch of wires. They are actually, Power, ground, and the trigger wires that cause the screen to come on during reverse etc. I had some of those wires that we a little loose in the block. I would look there or on the back of the receiver. You can also remove the tray above the radio be lifting off the rubber pad and removing the two small screws under it.

Hope this helps
Thanks! I forgot all about the top tray. Much easier to get to all radio wires.
Dbadger777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2017, 12:03 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 24.1
State: Washington
Posts: 15
The video feed to the radio will be under the center panel, allowing access to the back of the radio.
However, the video switching module is located under the access panel over the steering wheel. This splitter decides whether to send video from the rear, or either side mirror.

It's definitely another potential failure point for a loose connection.

Easy to turn the "screws" with a quarter, and the module should be screwed down to plywood.
Don_Atchley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2017, 05:20 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
wayneroe's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 30.3
State: Illinois
Posts: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don_Atchley View Post
The video feed to the radio will be under the center panel, allowing access to the back of the radio.
However, the video switching module is located under the access panel over the steering wheel. This splitter decides whether to send video from the rear, or either side mirror.

It's definitely another potential failure point for a loose connection.

Easy to turn the "screws" with a quarter, and the module should be screwed down to plywood.
I recently returned from a trip in my ACE 30.3 and had the same problem. As the trip went on, the problem became less intermittent and more permanent. Yesterday afternoon, I removed the access panel over the steering wheel and found the switching module. All connections seemed to be secure, but to my surprise (maybe I shouldn't have been with all the quality control problems we read about) the box itself is not attached to anything, it is just laying there on a bunch of wires. I just closed it back up since I had to take it to the dealer this morning for some other work and decided to let them worry about it. This is extremely shoddy work. I intend to write the Thor CEO a letter outlining the number of issues I have had directly attributable to shoddy work and NO QC. Doubt it will do any good, but will make me feel better.
__________________
Wayne & Jo Roe
Retired USAF
Thor ACE 30.3
Troy, IL
wayneroe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2017, 02:08 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Dbadger777's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 25.2
State: Michigan
Posts: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don_Atchley View Post
The video feed to the radio will be under the center panel, allowing access to the back of the radio.
However, the video switching module is located under the access panel over the steering wheel. This splitter decides whether to send video from the rear, or either side mirror.

It's definitely another potential failure point for a loose connection.

Easy to turn the "screws" with a quarter, and the module should be screwed down to plywood.
Like I say; there are some crazy smart people on this forum. I really think I have a handle on trouble shooting the camera's now.
Dbadger777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2017, 04:03 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
wayneroe's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 30.3
State: Illinois
Posts: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dbadger777 View Post
Like I say; there are some crazy smart people on this forum. I really think I have a handle on trouble shooting the camera's now.
I will be interested to look inside my dash panel after I get mine back from the dealer to see if, in addition to fixing the problem, they also attach the switcher box to the plywood panel or just leave it laying loose like Thor did.
__________________
Wayne & Jo Roe
Retired USAF
Thor ACE 30.3
Troy, IL
wayneroe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2017, 12:40 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
halfprice's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 29M
State: California
Posts: 897
My switch box was also loose inside the dash but it was still pretty secure in side there it's now sitting in a cabinet that's filled with parts that I've replaced on the motorhome I've added a new monitor on the dash so i dont have to use the radio screen

Jerry
__________________
https://www.thorforums.com/forums/f2...mods-4609.html
Jerry, Maria, and Sasha 6lb Yorkie
2017 Thor Hurricane 29M
2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sport
FMCA # F464385
halfprice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2017, 02:44 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
wayneroe's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 30.3
State: Illinois
Posts: 208
How big is that cabinet?🤔
__________________

__________________
Wayne & Jo Roe
Retired USAF
Thor ACE 30.3
Troy, IL
wayneroe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by



ThorForums.com is not in any way associated with Thor Industries or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2