Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Maintenance and Repair
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-09-2019, 07:19 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: North Carolina
Posts: 4
THOR #9206
Dash radio issues

I have a 2015 Thor Chateau and the in dash system (CD, radio, etc.along with the rear camera) has just stopped working. Will not come on at all. I have checked both the vehicle fuse box and the house fuse and nothing is blown. My house battery totally died due to a bad converter which has now been replaced. But, the Pioneer system in the dash will not come on and it was always on unless it was manually turned off. Any ideas
__________________

__________________
Crow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 07:25 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Popfla's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2019 Freedom Elite 30FE
State: Florida
Posts: 337
THOR #14543
Two possibilities:

1. Is the house battery switch in the "USE" position ?

2. Does the radio have a "reset" button like the Axxera units do ?
__________________

__________________
Ed
2019 Thor Freedom Elite 30FE
Living The Dream in "God's Waiting Room"
Popfla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 07:33 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: North Carolina
Posts: 4
THOR #9206
The switch is in the use position. I do not know about the reset button. Any idea where it may be??
__________________
Crow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 09:06 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
ducksface's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2018 24.1 AXISSIXxSIX
State: Arizona
Posts: 1,064
THOR #13932
There is possibly/probably an inline fuse in the power wire, close to where power goes into the back of the radio. You'll have to pull a dash panel to see/reach it.
__________________
ducksface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2019, 06:27 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: North Carolina
Posts: 4
THOR #9206
That sounds way beyond my skill level but thanks.
__________________
Crow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2019, 07:42 PM   #6
Member
 
ipagan54's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 30.1
State: Florida
Posts: 52
THOR #2162
Try these for confidence, its not that difficult to pull the radio https://www.youtube.com/results?sear...o+from+rv+dash
__________________
Ian and Carol
2016 ACE 30.1
Florida
ipagan54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2019, 07:51 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2013 ACE 30.1
State: Alberta
Posts: 1,005
THOR #2631
Does post #13 on the attached link help any?


Radio Removal E350 Chassis - iRV2 Forums
__________________
javelin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2019, 10:18 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Popfla's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2019 Freedom Elite 30FE
State: Florida
Posts: 337
THOR #14543
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crow View Post
I do not know about the reset button. Any idea where it may be??
I don't know if Pioneer radios even have a reset button, but it's worth looking for one.

On Axxera radios, there is a tiny button on the perimeter of the radio's face; some are at the top edge, some are on the bottom edge. You press the button with a straightened paperclip, pen point, toothpick...whatever...for a few seconds. Button is hard to find. On my Axxera I had to use a flashlight to find it.
__________________
Ed
2019 Thor Freedom Elite 30FE
Living The Dream in "God's Waiting Room"
Popfla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2019, 07:46 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Florida
Posts: 6
THOR #5535
I had same issues and it turned out to be low voltage and i had to replace house batteries
__________________
chasvee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2019, 08:08 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Ron1Z's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Windsport 29m
State: Florida
Posts: 361
THOR #8069
If you are still having the problem, call Pioneer they have great coustomer service.
__________________
Good Sam Member 836274654
FMCA F491320
Ron1Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2019, 09:20 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Chateau 28Z
State: Virginia
Posts: 3
THOR #5845
There is an inline fuse, but it is in the bathroom lower cabinet on my 28Z, behind the electrical panel. It is a single inline fuse that only powers the radio. Thor customer service sent me the prints.
__________________
eaglelen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2019, 12:36 AM   #12
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Quantum RS26
State: Texas
Posts: 22
THOR #12938
Quote:
Originally Posted by eaglelen View Post
There is an inline fuse, but it is in the bathroom lower cabinet on my 28Z, behind the electrical panel. It is a single inline fuse that only powers the radio. Thor customer service sent me the prints.
I had the same problem in my Quantum. The same 2 amp inline fuse was blown. This fuse is only for the memory voltage and should be the yellow wire in a typical radio harness in the dash and if not present the radio will not power on. The wire color may not be yellow at the fuse and I don't readily recall what color it was changed to as it made its way back to the converter. Traced it back to behind my converter which in my case is located under the dinette seat. Look for a red inline fuse holder. It should be readily accessible. Mine was all zip tied in a bundle of wires making it difficult to see.
__________________
Richie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2019, 02:25 AM   #13
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Thor four winds SF 35
State: Texas
Posts: 75
THOR #13025
One time my radio or my interior lights wouldn’t work and it was a strange looking breaker on the positive cable leading from my battery. It was just inches from the batteries. The reset for the radio is a small hole that you can stick a paper clip or pin in and push a button in the hole. I have heard of a inline fuse behind the radio also.
__________________
Glensouth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2019, 03:59 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Ford1's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Serrano
State: Florida
Posts: 137
THOR #8144
One more possibility is that there may be a radio fuse in the Battery Control Center (BCC). Thr BCC is normally located in one of two places, 1) close to the house batteries or 2) in the storage bin on the drivers side just aft of the front wheel. It is a black box about 10" square and 6" deep. There are two lift latches on the box cover. Open the box and check inside. There are a number of fuses in the box for auxillary devices. In some, one is the radio fuse.
__________________

__________________
Ford1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 05:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
×