Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Maintenance and Repair
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 11-26-2015, 09:20 AM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Four Winds 31E
State: Louisiana
THOR #3298
Help - electric short rims are hot!

I am new to rv's and just purchased a 2015 thor four winds 31e class c. I have only had it about a month. Was getting ready for a trip tomorrow and while washing the coach got a little shock when I touched the rims.

I was able to narrow it down to it only happens when connected to shore power and is stronger on the drivers side. I was plugged in to 15 amp wall outlet using an adapter. I am guessing there is a short somewhere touching the frame with the line coming in from shore power.

I am going to get under there tomorrow before I leave and see if I can find any issues. Has anyone experienced this before? I'm looking for pointers on where to start looking. I don't think I'm going to let this stop my trip but would like to figure it out before I leave.

Old 11-26-2015, 09:32 AM   #2

Brand: Still Looking
State: South Dakota
THOR #3001
Not so much a short as an open to Ground. With the Ground path open, you become the path when touching the frame (wheel). I would suspect the receptacle you are plugged into.
Old 11-26-2015, 01:22 PM   #3

Brand: Still Looking
State: Texas
THOR #2121
I'd also check the adapter you are using to make sure connections are good, particularly the ground.
Old 11-27-2015, 03:05 AM   #4

Model: Axis 25.1
State: Pennsylvania
THOR #1503
It could be in your power cord.

This should be fixed ASAP.

Bruce
Old 11-27-2015, 03:24 AM   #5

THOR #3298