Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Maintenance and Repair
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-08-2017, 06:00 PM   #21
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Texas
Posts: 22
Ok I found mine I have two of them under the bed if I have it plugged into shore power everything works but if I run generator I get nothing I have tripped the breakers on genny and reset them still nothing
__________________

BigTanahwy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2017, 06:32 PM   #22
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Texas
Posts: 22
Ok transfer switch working but still no power out. I opened switch box and had someone watch as I started Genny and it switched but still no power
__________________

BigTanahwy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2017, 06:35 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
Tfryman's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
Posts: 360
You may have a generator problem with an open in one leg of the stator. Time to get the voltmeter out and start doing some hot checking starting from the generator if you know what you are doing around electricity. If not, get an expert involved.
Tfryman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2017, 07:34 PM   #24
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Texas
Posts: 22
Ok just checked the transfer switch the 20 amp is working the rear AC that's all it's hooked to the 30 amp transfer switch is not engaging so either my 30 amp breaker is bad or transfer switch. I did try to manually engage it with Genny running with no effect any suggestions.
BigTanahwy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2017, 11:12 PM   #25
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Virginia
Posts: 105
I have not worked with a 50 amp setup. You say you have 2 transfer switches, each in a separate box. Maybe someone will chime in. I wonder if they split the genny output into two circuits and send the to the two transfer switches. You said everything works on shore power, so means the AC breakers are OK. Did both relays flip or just one? You seem to be missing 1 hot leg from the Genny. If you studied my photo you could see that I had a bad wirenut connection on both wires from my Genny and it melted the wire nuts off just like a kid with a marshmallow on a coat hanger over the fire. If you are comfortable working on this stuff you could examine the splices coming in from the Genny with a meter, or at least look closely for any tell tale signs that you have a connection problem.
__________________
ComputerChips
ComputerChips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2017, 11:29 PM   #26
Senior Member
 
SuperD's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2017 Windsport 29M
State: Texas
Posts: 2,521
I can pretty much guarantee you don't have two transfer switches. Both shore power and generator go to one transfer switch.
__________________
USMC Veteran
FMCA 101070S

Dave & Myra
One day your life will flash before your eyes,
make sure it's worth watching!
SuperD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2017, 01:50 PM   #27
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Texas
Posts: 22
As soon as the ol lady gets up I will shoot you a pic. There is a converter, transfer switch,a breaker box with a 20 amp breaker and a nother transfer switch.
BigTanahwy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2017, 02:01 PM   #28
Senior Member
 
Tfryman's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
Posts: 360
Your MH originally should have had a 50 amp transfer switch but it may have been replaced by two separate transfer switches due to the recalls:

Four Winds Hurricane recall

assuming the recall applies to and was done on your coach.


EDIT: Actually, it looks like the recalls were for later model coaches so your split transfer switches may be OEM.
Tfryman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2017, 02:11 PM   #29
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Texas
Posts: 22
Mine is a 2004 model 33sl
BigTanahwy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2017, 02:50 PM   #30
Senior Member
 
SuperD's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2017 Windsport 29M
State: Texas
Posts: 2,521
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigTanahwy View Post
As soon as the ol lady gets up I will shoot you a pic. There is a converter, transfer switch,a breaker box with a 20 amp breaker and a nother transfer switch.
Your coach must have originally been 30 amp and a 20 amp circuit added. Doesn't make sense to go thru a transfer switch, the generator would go thru the primary transfer switch and the 20 amp direct to whatever it powers.

Are you the original owner? If not, what, if anything, were you told about your electrical system?

I believe you have two switches but it doesn't make sense.
__________________
USMC Veteran
FMCA 101070S

Dave & Myra
One day your life will flash before your eyes,
make sure it's worth watching!
SuperD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2017, 03:55 PM   #31
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Texas
Posts: 22
No I am not the original owner and was told nothing about electrical at the dealership where I bought it so I'm stuck exploring on my own LoL
BigTanahwy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2017, 08:30 PM   #32
Senior Member
 
SuperD's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2017 Windsport 29M
State: Texas
Posts: 2,521
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigTanahwy View Post
No I am not the original owner and was told nothing about electrical at the dealership where I bought it so I'm stuck exploring on my own LoL
If you have time take some pictures of your setup and post them describing what is there.
__________________
USMC Veteran
FMCA 101070S

Dave & Myra
One day your life will flash before your eyes,
make sure it's worth watching!
SuperD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2017, 08:40 PM   #33
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Colorado
Posts: 27
My Tuscany has some "load shedding" stuff built in. Could be with a smaller generator some of the high power things ie. AC, microwave might be "shed" when other things are running. It's a long shot but maybe? When hooked up to shore power no shedding is necessary. Think its controlled by the Magnum control panel. But the Tuscany has a 10KW generator so shedding is seldom if ever necessary.
camperguy99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 02:46 AM   #34
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Vegas 24.1
State: Florida
Posts: 6
Lost power

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigTanahwy View Post
Lost power with generator running to part of cabin. Rear AC working but lost power to front AC,microwave,and other 110 volt outlets and battery's are not charging except when motor is running.
You may want to check auto transfer switch. On trip I lost shore power at campground to ac. Luckily they had repair tech. I have a 2016 Vegas transfer switch is almost impossible to get to but the repair guy found loose wire it fixed problem. But later in trip lose power from generator went back to transfer switch. Decided to relocate transfer box so I had easy access. Found 4 more wire loose which toasted generator relay. Moral to story check all wiring connections, should be super tight. Make sure u disconnect all power to do this or have tech check out.



was loose wire in transfer sw
__________________

Pwstick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by



ThorForums.com is not in any way associated with Thor Industries or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2