Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Maintenance and Repair
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-30-2017, 03:39 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 29M
State: California
Posts: 153
THOR #4312
No Shore power

Blue light on shore power plug is off
Is there a breaker to reset ? I read about a black box in the engine bay but couldn't find it
Thanks in advance
Lance (2017 Thor 29M)
__________________

__________________
2017 Thor Hurricane 29M

Be a blessing to someone
Classictint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2017, 04:41 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 31S
State: Texas
Posts: 1,517
THOR #6411
If you are looking at the Furrion Power Inlet's blue LED, it indicates that the power cord is supplying electricity to the power inlet. If that LED is not lit, it is because the power inlet is not receiving electricity. It could be that the power cord is not fully seated or that the pedestal circuit breaker is tripped. I would guess it is not a coach problem.
__________________

__________________
Jim & Roy Davis
2016 Hurricane 31S
1961 Rampside in tow
Beau388 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2017, 04:46 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 29M
State: California
Posts: 153
THOR #4312
I plugged something else in and the extension cord is getting power but I did change the extension cord recently to a much smaller gauge one so I'll check tomorrow also where is the pedestal circuit breaker located ?
Thank you very much
Lance
__________________
2017 Thor Hurricane 29M

Be a blessing to someone
Classictint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2017, 04:56 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Hittntherooad's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 30.1
State: North Carolina
Posts: 322
THOR #3952
Quote:
Originally Posted by Classictint View Post
I plugged something else in and the extension cord is getting power but I did change the extension cord recently to a much smaller gauge one so I'll check tomorrow also where is the pedestal circuit breaker located ?
Thank you very much
Lance
It is located right beside the receptacle.
__________________
Ace 30.1
Hittntherooad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2017, 04:57 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 29M
State: California
Posts: 153
THOR #4312
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hittntherooad View Post
It is located right beside the receptacle.


The only thing next to the receptacle is a cable tv jack ?
__________________
2017 Thor Hurricane 29M

Be a blessing to someone
Classictint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2017, 10:58 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
EA37TS's Avatar
 
Brand: Entegra
Model: Entegra Accolade 37TS
State: Virginia
Posts: 3,478
THOR #1469
I had an issue on my last trip out a couple weeks ago. When I plugged into the KOA's shore power we got nothing. Since my site and the one next to me were driver's side to driver's side I was able to plug into that pedestal and power was fine there. Since it was after normal hours the folks kept me on the original site plugged into the site next to me rather than moving. The next morning the electrician found that both the receptacle and breaker on my site's pedestal were bad. After replacing them everything was fine (except weather) for our week.
__________________
Dave
US Army (Ret)
2020 Entegra Accolade 37TS
2019 Jeep Grand Cherokee Trailhawk (Toad)
FMCA - F432054
EA37TS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2017, 12:39 PM   #7
Axis/Vegas Enthusiast
 
JamieGeek's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 24.1
State: Michigan
Posts: 8,202
THOR #1150
Quote:
Originally Posted by Classictint
The only thing next to the receptacle is a cable tv jack ?
Sometimes the breakers for the pedestal are on the backside behind another panel.
__________________
2014 Thor Axis 24.1
2018 Chevy Bolt
blog - https://spareelectrons.wordpress.com/
JamieGeek is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2017, 05:52 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 29M
State: California
Posts: 153
THOR #4312
I turned on the display for the inverter and it's showing the "E05 OL" error
__________________
2017 Thor Hurricane 29M

Be a blessing to someone
Classictint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2017, 06:41 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 31S
State: Texas
Posts: 1,517
THOR #6411
Quote:
Originally Posted by Classictint View Post
I turned on the display for the inverter and it's showing the "E05 OL" error
E05 is a low battery voltage warning (battery voltage below 11.0 volts). Usually this indicates you charger/converter is not online.
__________________
Jim & Roy Davis
2016 Hurricane 31S
1961 Rampside in tow
Beau388 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2017, 07:58 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 29M
State: California
Posts: 153
THOR #4312
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beau388 View Post
E05 is a low battery voltage warning (battery voltage below 11.0 volts). Usually this indicates you charger/converter is not online.


Yeah... I'll poke around a little more
Thank you very much
__________________
2017 Thor Hurricane 29M

Be a blessing to someone
Classictint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2017, 08:12 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Miramar Owner's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Miramar 34.4
State: Iowa
Posts: 661
THOR #4488
Have your tried resetting the circuit breaker on the pedestal that your cord is plugged in to. Just a thought. I always turn off the circuit breaker before I plug in power for my coach, then flip it back on. Your coach batteries would run down if you are not getting power so once that problem is remedied that error code should go out.
__________________
Miramar Owner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2017, 08:46 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 29M
State: California
Posts: 153
THOR #4312
Quote:
Originally Posted by Miramar Owner View Post
Have your tried resetting the circuit breaker on the pedestal that your cord is plugged in to. Just a thought. I always turn off the circuit breaker before I plug in power for my coach, then flip it back on. Your coach batteries would run down if you are not getting power so once that problem is remedied that error code should go out.


Wish I knew where the circuit breaker is located ? Hahaha
__________________
2017 Thor Hurricane 29M

Be a blessing to someone
Classictint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2017, 08:58 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Florida
Posts: 911
THOR #1249
Here is something else to check. Last trip out, I pulled into campground, plugged in and had no power to coach. I was getting power to end of power cord, so checked transfer switch and got no power. Removed the male receptacle off side of coach and found that the wires were loose and that the receptacle had cracked from the heat due to bad contact. Tightened lugs and all was ok. Still haven't gotten around to installing a new one.
Good luck with your hunt.
__________________
MR 2015 Thor Vegas 24.1 in Ocala
mcr1010 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2017, 09:30 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Windsport 27K
State: Florida
Posts: 173
THOR #2154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Miramar Owner View Post
Have your tried resetting the circuit breaker on the pedestal that your cord is plugged in to. Just a thought. I always turn off the circuit breaker before I plug in power for my coach, then flip it back on. Your coach batteries would run down if you are not getting power so once that problem is remedied that error code should go out.
ClassicTint: I get the feeling maybe you missed the point on the suggestion to check the pedestal breaker. The suggestion was referring you to the power connection your RV is plugged into, which is called the pedestal. It could very well be that the pedestal you are plugged into has a problem and there is no power available. If you're new to this, there are usually multiple circuit breakers at the pedestal, especially if there are both 30A and 50A connections.
__________________
Tom N3EQF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2017, 09:41 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 29M
State: California
Posts: 153
THOR #4312
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom N3EQF View Post
ClassicTint: I get the feeling maybe you missed the point on the suggestion to check the pedestal breaker. The suggestion was referring you to the power connection your RV is plugged into, which is called the pedestal. It could very well be that the pedestal you are plugged into has a problem and there is no power available. If you're new to this, there are usually multiple circuit breakers at the pedestal, especially if there are both 30A and 50A connections.


Duhhh silly me Hahahaha
I'll plug into a different outlet and see
I've only 6-8 payments into this Motorhome so I'm learning a lot
Thank you
__________________
2017 Thor Hurricane 29M

Be a blessing to someone
Classictint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2017, 11:42 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 29M
State: California
Posts: 153
THOR #4312
UPDATE-
I changed outlets and went through a deduction process and determined that the Microwave only works with shore power not with the generator ( I already reset the breaker on the side of the generator) any suggestions where I should poke around next?
Sorry for the newbie questions
__________________
2017 Thor Hurricane 29M

Be a blessing to someone
Classictint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2017, 11:56 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 31S
State: Texas
Posts: 1,517
THOR #6411
Is the microwave the only thing in the coach that does not work on generator power? Does the A/C, TVs all work on generator power?
__________________
Jim & Roy Davis
2016 Hurricane 31S
1961 Rampside in tow
Beau388 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2017, 12:01 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
Miramar Owner's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Miramar 34.4
State: Iowa
Posts: 661
THOR #4488
Also, have you checked your circuit breaker panel. It's just like the one at home...maybe a breaker needs to be reset. Don't know where yours is but in my Miramar it is at the end of the bed.
__________________
Miramar Owner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2017, 12:05 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 29M
State: California
Posts: 153
THOR #4312
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beau388 View Post
Is the microwave the only thing in the coach that does not work on generator power? Does the A/C, TVs all work on generator power?


DISCLAIMER-
I am not going crazy but I just rechecked and now the Ac,Microwave and Tvs work with the generator and the Inverter is reading 13.1
However the blue led light on the Ferrion is still not illuminated ?
__________________
2017 Thor Hurricane 29M

Be a blessing to someone
Classictint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2017, 12:19 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
Miramar Owner's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Miramar 34.4
State: Iowa
Posts: 661
THOR #4488
The power light may not display with the power supplied by the generator.

My guess is the power just hadn't been switched to the generator yet by the Automatic Transfer Switch. In my Miramar it takes about 90 seconds for it to switch over before the AC and microwave will work.
__________________

__________________
Miramar Owner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 01:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
×