Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Maintenance and Repair
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 11-22-2017, 05:17 AM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis RUV 24.1
State: New York
THOR #9288
Question To plug it in or not what's the benefit

Hi Folks I'm new at this and it's our first MH. We purchased a 2018 Axis 24.1 about two weeks ago. It is winterized and my question is:
Should I plug it into our home electric power and if so why and what would be the benefit of doing so. Or should I just disconnect the batteries and take them inside? I have been reading that some folks plug them in while other do not so I am a bit confused.
Where I live in NY it can get nasty freezing cold for long periods so any advice someone will give me might help me out a lot in understanding what needs to be done in the winter months. I thank you in advance for your assistance and help.
Have a nice Thanksgiving folks!
K9piper

Old 11-22-2017, 11:39 AM   #2

Model: Vegas 24.1
State: Michigan
THOR #9701
Winterization

Being new at this game myself, I may not be the best to answer! We winterized last weekend and are going to pull the house/coach batteries and store in the garage. put in some of those anti-crtter packages, then wrap ours up with a good Adco-Tyvek cover for a long winters nap!
My question to all is should we leave the coach up on the Big-Foot Levelers or drive the tires up onto wood blocks or is there another option ?
Old 11-22-2017, 12:03 PM   #3
Axis/Vegas Enthusiast

Model: Axis 24.4
THOR #1150
For the battery question: A fully charged battery will not freeze and thus if you have access to 120V where you store the coach you're better off simply leaving it plugged in with the use/store switch on "use" (otherwise there wouldn't be any benefit to leaving it plugged in).