Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Maintenance and Repair
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 01-18-2020, 03:17 AM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Ace 32.1
State: Florida
THOR #17614
What is voltage of 50 amp service?

I am new to this. I am having a 50 amp plug installed at my house for my ACE 32.1. My electrician thinks it should be 220 volts, but some comments on the forums indicated that it is 110. Help please.

Thanks.

Old 01-18-2020, 03:22 AM   #2

Model: 2018 24.1 AXISSIXxSIX
State: Arizona
THOR #13932
Get another electrician.
Pros don't think.
Pros know.

Click on my pictures then click the pop-up for a full screen zoomable picture.
ducksface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2020, 03:25 AM   #3

Model: Hurricane 29M
State: Texas
THOR #11781
You need another electrician for sure. If he doesn't know, you are asking for trouble.
Lt Keefer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2020, 03:33 AM   #4
Site Team

Model: ACE 27.1
THOR #7035
But FYI the RV 50 amp connection is a standard 240 VAC split phase connection.
2020 Chevy Colorado Z71 Trail Runner Toad
2024 Chevrolet Trax 2RS - Soon 2B TOAD
16ACE27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2020, 04:11 AM   #5

Brand: Keystone
Model: Sprinter
THOR #15553
It's not 220. It's 120/240. Your electrician is correct IF you do in fact have a 50 amp 240 service. 4 prong plug 50 amp 240 volts. 3 prong plug 30 amp 120 volts. 50 is the same as a house hold range.
Old 01-18-2020, 04:27 AM   #6

State: Georgia
THOR #4735
for your electrician: it's simply a RV 50amp outlet wired to your panel at a 240v double-pole 50amp breaker....