Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Maintenance and Repair
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-24-2019, 01:55 PM   #1
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Wisconsin
Posts: 52
THOR #13332
Thor Challenger Help

Always something! What did I or didn't I do. We have had RV for a year now you would think I would of figured things out by now.

Dumped septic Thurs. Took off Fri for campground and hooked up as usual to campground water and septic. Used stool during nite and flushed. Went to bed and pump wouldn't shut off. So I thought. So being the genius that I am said fix it in the morning got up and shut pump off. Woke up and felt like I was in the titanic. Water all over the place. Water filled the septic. What did I or didn't I do.? from wife.
__________________

__________________
Driley43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2019, 03:25 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
16ACE27's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
Posts: 2,761
THOR #7035
If you were hooked up to city water why was the pump ON? If you were hooked to city water and had the pump turned on and it continuously runs THAT should be an indication of a "can't wait" problem.

So the pressing question is: Where did the water come from?
__________________

__________________
The USER Formally Known As TFryman
Ted & Melinda
2016 ACE 27.1
2016 Chevy Sonic Toad
16ACE27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2019, 04:07 PM   #3
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Wisconsin
Posts: 52
THOR #13332
That's what I can't figure out. I have pump on now and no problem but we are hooked up to city. Puzzled?
__________________
Driley43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2019, 04:37 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
16ACE27's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
Posts: 2,761
THOR #7035
Quote:
Originally Posted by Driley43 View Post
That's what I can't figure out. I have pump on now and no problem but we are hooked up to city. Puzzled?
Yes, I am puzzled. Why do you have the pump turned on when you are connected to city water?

The pump is only used to supply water from your fresh water holding tank. There is no need for it to be on when connected to city water.
__________________
The USER Formally Known As TFryman
Ted & Melinda
2016 ACE 27.1
2016 Chevy Sonic Toad
16ACE27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2019, 04:49 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 29M
State: Texas
Posts: 484
THOR #11781
How did your 'septic' tanks fill?
__________________
Lt Keefer
2018 Hurricane 29M
CHF, Saf-T-Plus, SumoSprings
Lt Keefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2019, 06:00 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2013 ACE 30.1
State: Alberta
Posts: 770
THOR #2631
Sounds to me like the toilet valve never shut shore (or pump if turned on) water off after the fateful flush and filled the bowl to overflow. If your toilet seal is good how else would the black tank overfill and overflow......are you sure the black tank is actually full and that the toilet did not just overflow? I would also expect if the toilet flush valve is failing you would still see water filling the bowl unless maybe the flush valve had a plastic bit in the valve seal which has now cleared.....so no more valve problem.
__________________
javelin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2019, 12:29 PM   #7
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Wisconsin
Posts: 52
THOR #13332
Quote:
Originally Posted by javelin View Post
Sounds to me like the toilet valve never shut shore (or pump if turned on) water off after the fateful flush and filled the bowl to overflow. If your toilet seal is good how else would the black tank overfill and overflow......are you sure the black tank is actually full and that the toilet did not just overflow? I would also expect if the toilet flush valve is failing you would still see water filling the bowl unless maybe the flush valve had a plastic bit in the valve seal which has now cleared.....so no more valve problem.
I understand what you are saying. Just have never shut pump off when connected to shore power because on panel where I hook water up I have always done the bypass. This has been an RV adventure for sure. If it weren't for this site I would know nothing and I thank you for that as I have never been shown anything except what I read here or in the manual which I would like to burn sometimes. Thanks again.
__________________

__________________
Driley43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 05:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2