Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Maintenance and Repair
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-29-2017, 02:04 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 29.3
State: New York
Posts: 113
TV's

Can anyone tell me if it is difficult to change out the TV's? Since I had so many problems last year in having my TV's get a signal I brought new ones.
__________________

bikegolfgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2017, 02:43 PM   #2
gmc
Senior Member
 
gmc's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 32A
State: Florida
Posts: 1,487
Going to be one of those 'it depends' answers...
I don't have an ACE - but the ease/difficulty will depend on if the existing mounting brackets can be reused... and if the existing wiring can reach to the plugs on the new TV (and in right orientation to clear any obstructions)

If all re-usable - I'd expect a relatively easy swap.
__________________

__________________
Greg
Not yet retired...
Florida (Michigan transplant)
2014 Hurricane 32A
2000 Infinity (previous)
gmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2017, 02:54 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
SuperD's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2017 Windsport 29M
State: Indiana
Posts: 3,536
Should be relatively simple. There is a bracket on the back of the tv that latches to the wall mount. Unplug all the connections, release the latches and remove tv from the wall mount. Unbolt the mount from the old tv and attach to the new tv, hold up near the wall mount ( you'll probably need a helper for this), plug in the cables and latch back on the wall. This is an over simplification, mount for back of the new tv may use different size bolts, cables may not be located the same, etc, but that's basically how it's done.
__________________
USMC Veteran
FMCA 101070S

Dave & Myra
One day your life will flash before your eyes,
make sure it's worth watching!
SuperD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2017, 03:26 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
dstankov's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2015 Challenger 37ND
State: Virginia
Posts: 3,105
Here is the link from when I replaced the Seiki with a Sharp Aquos in my Challenger. It's not an Ace but may give you an idea of what to expect.


Upcoming mod for the Challenger - TV
__________________
Dave
US Army (Ret)
Chester, VA
2015 Thor Challenger 37ND
FMCA - F432054
dstankov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2017, 08:58 PM   #5
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 24.1
State: Illinois
Posts: 97
Staying at Pensacola Beach RB resort with digital cable. Would not scan. I am guessing same problem I've read about at Ft Wilderness and Seiki TV's with tuner. Anyone else had this problem at Pensacola with Axis 24.1?
leshunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2017, 10:23 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
SuperD's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2017 Windsport 29M
State: Indiana
Posts: 3,536
Quote:
Originally Posted by leshunter View Post
Staying at Pensacola Beach RB resort with digital cable. Would not scan. I am guessing same problem I've read about at Ft Wilderness and Seiki TV's with tuner. Anyone else had this problem at Pensacola with Axis 24.1?
I doubt you are going to get any digital channels regardless of your location with the Seiki tv's. Lack of a qam tuner in the tv is the problem. To receive digital channels you will have to either get a converter or change out the tv's like many others have done. Personally I changed the tv's and get more than double over the air channels and they work on digital cable!
__________________
USMC Veteran
FMCA 101070S

Dave & Myra
One day your life will flash before your eyes,
make sure it's worth watching!
SuperD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2017, 11:16 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
dstankov's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2015 Challenger 37ND
State: Virginia
Posts: 3,105
If I am not mistaken, which I could be, Comcast has encoded all of their channels throughout Florida.
__________________
Dave
US Army (Ret)
Chester, VA
2015 Thor Challenger 37ND
FMCA - F432054
dstankov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2017, 12:13 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
JamieGeek's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 24.1
State: Michigan
Posts: 6,984
Quote:
Originally Posted by dstankov
If I am not mistaken, which I could be, Comcast has encoded all of their channels throughout Florida.
I think that is nationwide; not just FL.
__________________
2014 Thor Axis 24.1
2016 C-Max Energi
2018 Chevy Bolt
blog - https://spareelectrons.wordpress.com/
JamieGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2017, 11:22 PM   #9
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 24.1
State: Illinois
Posts: 97
Anyone know how much the converters are and they are they installed. Also what is the coax connection in the cabinet for? Thanks.
__________________

leshunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 06:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2