Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Maintenance and Repair
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-29-2018, 02:19 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Iggy1021's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Thor ACE 30.2
State: Massachusetts
Posts: 21
THOR #12436
Use/store button doesn't seem to work

When I press the use/store button, I don't hear anything and the lights dont turn off when they're are on. I have a 2017 Thor ACE 30.2. Where should I begin to look?
__________________

__________________
Iggy1021 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2018, 03:36 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Yvonnemarc's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 30.2
State: Massachusetts
Posts: 260
THOR #8180
The use/store is a latching relay. I havent heard of it getting stuck on, only off. possible bad switch then.
__________________

__________________
USN - RETIRED NUKE
Taunton, MA
Yvonnemarc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2018, 03:54 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Iggy1021's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Thor ACE 30.2
State: Massachusetts
Posts: 21
THOR #12436
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yvonnemarc View Post
The use/store is a latching relay. I havent heard of it getting stuck on, only off. possible bad switch then.
Thanks for the reply. I apologize for the confusion, I've read from some of the posts that if the lights inside stay on after the switch is pressed to store, there may be an issue with the 5 amp fuse? I just dont dont know where to to for it.
__________________
Iggy1021 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2018, 01:21 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Oldchief's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 25.5
State: Florida
Posts: 350
THOR #4802
Shortly after we got our new Axis, this switch on it was found to be bad and was replaced. You should hear the relay click when you turn this switch from Store to Use. Also, could be a blown fuse. If your fuse panel is like our's, if there's a blown fuse, you should see a small red LED illuminated next to it. Fuse panels are often located under or near the main bed.
Finally, your interior lights should not work if switch is set to Store. If they're staying on after switch is set to store, my best guess is the switch is bad.
__________________
Oldchief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2018, 01:43 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 22FE
State: New York
Posts: 209
THOR #5330
Are you hooked to shore power when you try to turn the switch to off?
__________________
cpmath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2018, 02:59 PM   #6
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2013 Thor Damon Daybreak
State: Colorado
Posts: 66
THOR #3604
I had the same problem a while back, the culprit was this 5 amp fuse under the hood
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	6E6A8265-B6E7-4630-8A39-82C4285E46B0.jpeg
Views:	122
Size:	187.9 KB
ID:	13130  
__________________
Daryll & Erin
Parker, Colorado
2013 Thor Damon Daybreak 34BD, bunkhouse
Dvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2018, 03:57 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2017 Thor Vegas 25.2
State: Indiana
Posts: 289
THOR #7993
We've had our Vegas for a year and a half now. We're on our 3rd solenoid. The problem was never the switch itself or the fuse. We had Terry's RV in Frankfort IL replace it the last time and it seems to be working properly now. Also, the batteries used to drain pretty quickly (within a week) before. It's been 2 weeks now and the batteries are not losing charge at all. Maybe the solenoids were faulty, maybe wired wrong.
__________________
jb1911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2018, 08:49 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Iggy1021's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Thor ACE 30.2
State: Massachusetts
Posts: 21
THOR #12436
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpmath View Post
Are you hooked to shore power when you try to turn the switch to off?
No, I try to set it on store when im back from a trip, but that's when i realized that I wasn't hearing anything and the lights would remain on.
__________________
Iggy1021 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2018, 05:01 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Iggy1021's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Thor ACE 30.2
State: Massachusetts
Posts: 21
THOR #12436
Thanks to everyone for their info. So I found the solenoid underneath the bed, found that the 5 amp fuse was in fact blown and replaced it with a new one (heres the pic). Now when I press the button to store, the interior lights dont completely turn off but rather dim instead. Jeez now what!?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20181001_115954.jpg
Views:	114
Size:	99.0 KB
ID:	13166  
__________________
Iggy1021 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2018, 05:42 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Oldchief's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 25.5
State: Florida
Posts: 350
THOR #4802
Dimming lights usually result from
faulty ground, likely a loose wire or corroded connection somewhere.
__________________
Oldchief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2018, 05:52 PM   #11
I Think We're Lost!
 
Bob Denman's Avatar
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
State: New York
Posts: 11,782
THOR #8860
I agree: look for a ground wire that is misbehaving...
Good luck!
__________________
Good Sam Member 843599689
FMCA Member F473304
Current coach: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
"History shows again and again; how Nature points
out the folly of man..."
Bob Denman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2018, 01:58 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Virginia
Posts: 315
THOR #7607
If pushing the store switch causes them to dim, instead of go out, there may be some problem inside the relay keeping a partial connection. Try tapping on the relay after pushing "store" and see if the lights will go completely out. You didn't change any wiring did you?
__________________
ComputerChips
ComputerChips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2018, 03:37 AM   #13
Junior Member
 
Iggy1021's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Thor ACE 30.2
State: Massachusetts
Posts: 21
THOR #12436
Quote:
Originally Posted by ComputerChips View Post
If pushing the store switch causes them to dim, instead of go out, there may be some problem inside the relay keeping a partial connection. Try tapping on the relay after pushing "store" and see if the lights will go completely out. You didn't change any wiring did you?
No, I didn't change anything. At one point thinking that if I pushed the button to store longer it would go out but it I ended up blowing the fuse again. So I changed it with a new one...again.
__________________
Iggy1021 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2018, 02:39 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Iggy1021's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Thor ACE 30.2
State: Massachusetts
Posts: 21
THOR #12436
I just noticed that the sticker on the relay looks suspicious to me, it seems like its burnt. The connected cables seem fine. This doesn't seen normal to me. Would that be an indication that the whole relay is pretty much done?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20181002_092826.jpg
Views:	103
Size:	98.6 KB
ID:	13184  
__________________
Iggy1021 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2018, 04:59 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Virginia
Posts: 315
THOR #7607
Possibly. The button wouldn't do that. It might have developed a poor connection which cause the contacts to overheat.
__________________
ComputerChips
ComputerChips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2018, 04:00 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2013 ACE 30.1
State: Alberta
Posts: 946
THOR #2631
Just curious if your newer ACE uses the Intellitec BIRD battery control system with the basic configuration shown below? If yes, you seem to have found the Coach battery latching relay and the 5 amp fuse, but there should be a BIRD control module, interconnect relay and Chassis battery latching relay somewhere (the BIRD basically controls the interconnect relay between Coach and Chassis battery). If your newer ACE does not use the BIRD system then it is more difficult to help. A basic multimeter would help you determine if components have failed. No noise from the coach latching relay implies it has failed (assuming its control wires and switch are working properly.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	BIRD Basic Schematic.jpg
Views:	173
Size:	53.2 KB
ID:	13194  
__________________
javelin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2018, 03:16 PM   #17
Junior Member
 
Iggy1021's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Thor ACE 30.2
State: Massachusetts
Posts: 21
THOR #12436
So I will be replacing the coach relay but I noticed that I have the INTELLITEC 0100055002 model and not what seems to the popular INTELLITEC 0100055000 model which almost seems identical except for the 5amp fuses on each side. Would I be able to get away with installing this model?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20181004_093203.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	283.7 KB
ID:	13224   Click image for larger version

Name:	20181004_093405.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	340.0 KB
ID:	13225  

__________________
Iggy1021 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2018, 11:58 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Mitch S's Avatar
 
Brand: Jayco
Model: Alante
State: West Virginia
Posts: 164
THOR #5597
As long as it's rated for continuous duty and has the same amp ratings I don't see any reason it wouldn't. Go to the INTELLITEC web site and see if they have the ratings posted.
__________________
Mitch S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2018, 01:54 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2013 ACE 30.1
State: Alberta
Posts: 946
THOR #2631
My coach does not use Intellitec devices so I don't know which latching relays are good or not. The simplest solution is replace with the same part and that way you do not have to modify what is already there. The alternate part you show has two fuses and if you search the Intellitec site they describe what each fuse does in the document. Your original part can be supplied from:


https://rvpartsexpress.com/product/i...-01-00055-002/


One side note.....you mentioned that your 5 Amp fuse kept blowing and I am curious why that would happen. If you do have the BIRD configuration I posted previously I wonder if there is something else wrong besides the Coach latching relay "apparently" being failed in the closed (on) position. Just saying there could be other problems going on too.
__________________
javelin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2018, 02:02 PM   #20
I Think We're Lost!
 
Bob Denman's Avatar
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
State: New York
Posts: 11,782
THOR #8860
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iggy1021 View Post
So I will be replacing the coach relay but I noticed that I have the INTELLITEC 0100055002 model and not what seems to the popular INTELLITEC 0100055000 model which almost seems identical except for the 5amp fuses on each side. Would I be able to get away with installing this model?
I like the idea of the double fuses... Assuming that it meets the needs of the job: it should be a worthwhile upgrade.
__________________

__________________
Good Sam Member 843599689
FMCA Member F473304
Current coach: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
"History shows again and again; how Nature points
out the folly of man..."
Bob Denman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 10:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
×