Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Towing | Hitches and Toads
Click Here to Login

Old 11-06-2015, 02:07 PM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 29.3
State: New York
THOR #3187
Towing & Hitch advice

I am new to the RV world and purchased a 2015 ACE 29.3. Can anyone tell me what set up do I need to tow a car? I am thinking of pulling a honda element. If not maybe some set up that I can carry a small motorcycle or electric bikes?

Trying to figure out all my options for a week long trip. So far we have only done 2-3 day trips.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Old 11-06-2015, 02:14 PM   #2
Axis/Vegas Enthusiast

Model: Axis 24.4
State: Michigan
THOR #1150
The easiest thing you can do for week long trips is rent a car (yeah it costs $$ but so does towing setups). We did that the first year before we got our dolly.

Other than that you can either:
  • Get a full trailer
  • Get a dolly
  • Flat tow
It looks like Honda won't let you flat tow the Element. Thus you could either use a Dolly or trailer. There are pluses and minuses for either (Trailer more $$, Dolly slightly more complicated to setup, Trailer takes more room to store, etc.).

There was a long thread about this very subject not too long ago...
JamieGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2015, 10:01 PM   #3

THOR #3187
Yes we thought about car rental but if you go to a remote location its tough. We are planning a trip to Letchworth State park in NY next summer and there isnt really a car rental place close to the park.
Old 11-07-2015, 12:20 AM   #4

Model: Aria 3901
State: New Mexico
THOR #2538
Fist off welcome....