Thor Forums

Thor Forums (http://www.thorforums.com/forums/)
-   Modifications and Updates (http://www.thorforums.com/forums/f27/)
-   -   Thermostat upgrade (http://www.thorforums.com/forums/f27/thermostat-upgrade-10711.html)

Djmacks 01-17-2018 10:33 PM

Thermostat upgrade
 
I am thinking about upgrading to digital thermostat in my Miramar motorhome and wanted any suggestion on what brand and part number I should use

16ACE27 01-17-2018 10:42 PM

Thor Forums - Search Results

gbrown 01-17-2018 10:46 PM

I got lazy and bought the digital Coleman Mack from Amazon. Plug compatible and a 20 minute install.

lazinskm 01-18-2018 12:28 AM

What do u mean by plug compatible? I received one for xmas but haven’t put in yet

axis earl 01-18-2018 12:36 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Djmacks (Post 104808)
I am thinking about upgrading to digital thermostat in my Miramar motorhome and wanted any suggestion on what brand and part number I should use

I bought the Coleman-Mach digital, same size as the one you presently have. Just matched the wire colors as the original was installed and it works fine.

jpmihalk 01-18-2018 02:56 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by axis earl (Post 104825)
I bought the Coleman-Mach digital, same size as the one you presently have. Just matched the wire colors as the original was installed and it works fine.

We did the same. 15 minute upgrade.

gbrown 01-18-2018 03:17 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lazinskm (Post 104823)
What do u mean by plug compatible? I received one for xmas but haven’t put in yet

Like others have said. Just match the colors the same as your analog thermostat. Use the existing wire nuts. Even the holes in the wall are the same.

RV Pirate 01-19-2018 12:02 PM

Yesterday I installed 2 digtal stats that I got for Christmas in our Challenger. Coleman Mach is direct replacement. The thermostat controlling the heat uses all the wires, the other one doesn't use one wire. Most of the wires are the same colors, 2 were different. (white to blue, red to purple) .. Just switch one by one to the new stat.. Couldn't be any easier to do. As mentioned, the mounting holes are even the same. Took about 20 minutes to change both. Highly recommend.

jb1911 01-19-2018 02:26 PM

Not trying to be a wise guy (for a change) but what do you gain by doing this?

16ACE27 01-19-2018 02:28 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jb1911 (Post 104977)
Not trying to be a wise guy (for a change) but what do you gain by doing this?

Better resolution as to where you have set the temperature and a digital temperature readout.

rvfigs 01-19-2018 02:33 PM

He gains happiness...that his rig is one step closer to being perfect for him[emoji4]

jb1911 01-19-2018 02:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rvfigs (Post 104981)
He gains happiness...that his rig is one step closer to being perfect for him[emoji4]

I already knew that part.:lol:

JamieGeek 01-19-2018 03:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jb1911 (Post 104977)
Not trying to be a wise guy (for a change) but what do you gain by doing this?

The digital thermostats have a shorter deadband and thus keep the temperature closer to the desired setpoint.

For example: The old analog thermostat may let the temperature fall 2 or 3 degrees before kicking the furnace on (and then allow the temperature to rise 1 or 2 degrees above the setpoint before turning off again).

The digital thermostats tighten that up only allowing the temp to fall about a degree before turning on the heat and turning it off slightly above the setpoint.

The consequences of this are that the RV is more comfortable to live in (the furnace will run shorter cycles with a digital thermostat).

RV Pirate 01-19-2018 03:08 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jb1911 (Post 104977)
Not trying to be a wise guy (for a change) but what do you gain by doing this?

Good question..You can actually set the same exact temps for front and rear units instead of guessing on the sliding temp switch on the stock thermostat. Plus the temp. range goes from 33° to 99°. Had ours set at 35 last night since our low was upper 20's here last night. Stock thermostat cuts off at 55°. Not to mention you can easily see the present temp inside the coach. (No thermometer on stock thermostat). And what Jamie said...[emoji41]

BradnKaren 01-19-2018 04:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RV Pirate (Post 104990)
Good question..You can actually set the same exact temps for front and rear units instead of guessing on the sliding temp switch on the stock thermostat. Plus the temp. range goes from 33° to 99°. Had ours set at 35 last night since our low was upper 20's here last night. Stock thermostat cuts off at 55°. Not to mention you can easily see the present temp inside the coach. (No thermometer on stock thermostat). And what Jamie said...[emoji41]

Excellent feedback, thank you! That upgrade is on our list. We are also in FL and 55 is exactly where we've had to set the current thermostat to prevent freezing. That dang furnace has been running a lot while sitting in our driveway, unoccupied. I have a digital thermometer on the kitchen table to monitor interior temps.

RV Pirate 01-19-2018 08:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BradnKaren (Post 105002)
Excellent feedback, thank you! That upgrade is on our list. We are also in FL and 55 is exactly where we've had to set the current thermostat to prevent freezing. That dang furnace has been running a lot while sitting in our driveway, unoccupied. I have a digital thermometer on the kitchen table to monitor interior temps.

Glad I could help. I heated up the coach to 55° last night, shut her down and set the temp at 35°. Went out there this morning at sunrise and it was 40° in the coach outside temp was 28° so it looks like it stayed warm enough that the heat never came on during the night. [emoji3]

lazinskm 02-03-2018 04:23 PM

for those who made the switch, did you have a setting for fan only on the analog? if so, is there anyway to make just the fan run on its own with the coleman mack digital upgrade. i was going to install today but i couldn't figure out how the fan itself would run.

RV Pirate 02-03-2018 08:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lazinskm (Post 106920)
for those who made the switch, did you have a setting for fan only on the analog? if so, is there anyway to make just the fan run on its own with the coleman mack digital upgrade. i was going to install today but i couldn't figure out how the fan itself would run.

Switch the fan mode on the digital to "on". Fan speed switch on high or low.

DenverTransplant 02-03-2018 10:39 PM

I’ve done it twice. First replacement was the Mach digital thermostat, but we found that we couldn’t see the settings in the dark, or even early in the morning.we set the temperature pretty low overnight, but I’m generally up first and need to increase the setting.

I upgraded again to a Honeywell as described by Ray of Love Your RV. The only extra thing is that you need to add an external fan hi/lo switch if you want to select fan speed selection. The link to his article and video is below. This thermostat runs off of batteries and is back lit. Works fine.

http://www.loveyourrv.com/rv-thermos...focuspro-5000/

External switch I used was ordered from Amazon

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

RV Pirate 02-04-2018 10:55 AM

Anyone who needs a pair of 2017 Coleman Mach analog thermostats in black, like new, PM me, Make offer. [emoji41]


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:56 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2