Thor Forums

Thor Forums (http://www.thorforums.com/forums/)
-   Modifications and Updates (http://www.thorforums.com/forums/f27/)
-   -   Anyone installed an inverter in a VEGAS/AXIS using std house batteries? (http://www.thorforums.com/forums/f27/anyone-installed-inverter-vegas-axis-using-std-house-batteries-8741.html)

Mo_Mike 08-10-2017 11:06 PM

Anyone installed an inverter in a VEGAS/AXIS using std house batteries?
 
I am thinking of installing a small inverter (1000-1200 watt) to be able to run a tv and charge laptops without starting the generator (and during "quiet" times)

I was going to use one with a transfer switch built in, to jumper between the breaker box and the actual runs on the "receptacle" breaker (trying to isolate the gas refrig and keep it off the inverter)

Has anyone placed an inverter using the existing house batteries?

Or, should I wait until I figure out how to beef up the battery bank?

Just trying to be as "self-sufficient" as I can be (and still have some creature comforts, like tv):coolsmiley:

tnedator 08-10-2017 11:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mo_Mike (Post 82647)
I am thinking of installing a small inverter (1000-1200 watt) to be able to run a tv and charge laptops without starting the generator (and during "quiet" times)

I was going to use one with a transfer switch built in, to jumper between the breaker box and the actual runs on the "receptacle" breaker (trying to isolate the gas refrig and keep it off the inverter)

Has anyone placed an inverter using the existing house batteries?

Or, should I wait until I figure out how to beef up the battery bank?

Just trying to be as "self-sufficient" as I can be (and still have some creature comforts, like tv):coolsmiley:

Check this out.

http://www.thorforums.com/forums/f27...ions-7971.html

bolandd 08-10-2017 11:36 PM

We swapped out the Harris batteries for some deep cycle group 29 ones from Walmart ($99 each) and added a 1500 watt inverter I also run a 400 watt inverter from the same batteries. We can run all the TVs which each have a Roku attached. We run single items like a coffee pot, a small popcorn popper, the wife's hair dryer on low and a toaster. Works well beyond our expectations.

Mo_Mike 08-10-2017 11:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tnedator (Post 82651)

Saw that, asked him how it was working with the two std house batteries, but haven't heard back yet...

Thanks for your reply.

Mo_Mike 08-10-2017 11:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bolandd (Post 82654)
We swapped out the Harris batteries for some deep cycle group 29 ones from Walmart ($99 each) and added a 1500 watt inverter I also run a 400 watt inverter from the same batteries. We can run all the TVs which each have a Roku attached. We run single items like a coffee pot, a small popcorn popper, the wife's hair dryer on low and a toaster. Works well beyond our expectations.

Did you have to change out the VEGAS/AXIS charger converter when you changed batteries, or did it work ok with them?

bolandd 08-11-2017 12:00 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mo_Mike (Post 82657)
Did you have to change out the VEGAS/AXIS charger converter when you changed batteries, or did it work ok with them?

Works just fine. We've now added 400 watts of solar because we prefer to boondock whenever possible. Will be adding 2 more batteries in the near future (same Walmart deep cycles).

Mr Sunshine 08-11-2017 12:59 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mo_Mike (Post 82647)
I am thinking of installing a small inverter (1000-1200 watt) to be able to run a tv and charge laptops without starting the generator (and during "quiet" times)



We have a 1200 watt inverter mounted near the front passenger seat on our Vegas, just ahead of the bed part that comes down. Wires go through the floor then back to the house batteries. You could plug the TV into it, but we haven't done that. Mostly we run cord back to a small fan or a small heater in the bedroom, when we don't have shore power. We often plug in cell phone or computer chargers, and have run a crock pot from it, to have a hot dinner ready when we pull off the road.

Oneilkeys 08-11-2017 01:25 AM

Axis/Vegas Mods...1,2,3 Go. - Page 44 - Thor Forums

This is a previous post of small inverters that I installed in my 2014 Vegas and 2016 Axis.

Oneilkeys 08-11-2017 01:36 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mo_Mike (Post 82657)
Did you have to change out the VEGAS/AXIS charger converter when you changed batteries, or did it work ok with them?

It has been my experience with two converter chargers in my 2014 Vegas and 2016 Axis that they do not work well - if at all. The converter charger is supposed to charge your batteries at 14.1v if they are seriously discharged until they get up to about 50% charge. Then it should drop down to about 13.5V until the batteries are fully charged. Finally it should drop the charge down to about 13.1v to keep the batteries charged and not boil your batteries. You can easily test if your charger is operating thus way with a volt meter. I have one permanently connected to my batteries. Neither of my OEM converter chargers ever got out of the 13.5v mode. If yours does not drop down to the 13.1v "float" mode, over time it will boil over your batteries and destroy them. If it does not charge at 14.1v when you batteries are below 50%, it takes a long time to recharge your batteries. I replaced my converter charger with a Progressive Dynamics 4655 which is a direct replacement and it works as it should.

INKBLUE12 08-11-2017 11:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bolandd (Post 82659)
Works just fine. We've now added 400 watts of solar because we prefer to boondock whenever possible. Will be adding 2 more batteries in the near future (same Walmart deep cycles).



Where are you going to install two additional batteries in the Vegas/Axis? There is not room for two.

bolandd 08-12-2017 12:16 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by INKBLUE12 (Post 82763)
Where are you going to install two additional batteries in the Vegas/Axis? There is not room for two.

Currently building a rack to install them in the front passenger storage bin.

Muggs 08-28-2017 08:12 PM

I added a750 watt inverter for Grandson to watch tv on road. Using batteries unit came with. Zero issues so far. I fused it and have a circuit breaker o positively switch off.

INKBLUE12 08-28-2017 09:07 PM

Would love to see pictures of your rack you are building in the front storage bin when your finished. I am looking at installing solar from Brian Boone.

Mo_Mike 08-29-2017 12:05 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bolandd (Post 82769)
Currently building a rack to install them in the front passenger storage bin.

Same here, looking to build some sort of box/rack myself.

Mo_Mike 10-29-2017 01:29 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bolandd (Post 82769)
Currently building a rack to install them in the front passenger storage bin.

Just curious if you got your battery box installed

bolandd 10-29-2017 01:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mo_Mike (Post 95156)
Just curious if you got your battery box installed

I've got the rack installed. Still deciding on which batteries to go with.

leshunter 10-29-2017 02:11 PM

Inverter
 
I had my dealer install an inverter in my 2017 Axis 24.1. Have traveled over 20,000 miles and it works great. It is located inside the front door to the left and has one receptacle and powers all 3 TV's and an outlet in the bedroom.
Because of the circuits it will power the frig but I always switch TV to LP to conserve batteries.
I watch TV all night when boondocking and have never had a problem with battery drain but I do monitor it and don't use the inverter much besides to power the TV.

scrubjaysnest 10-29-2017 05:22 PM

We have a pair of 400 watt inverters. One is mounted where the exterior TV was and the other is kept portable. Added additional 10 AWG wire to 12 volt outlets for the portable one.

Thinking about a 2000 watt so we can run the reefer when changing CG's even though to date this hasn't been an issue. We dry camp 95% of the time and the 500 watts of solar has been fine at keeping the crummy house batteries up.

Mo_Mike 10-29-2017 08:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bolandd (Post 95201)
I've got the rack installed. Still deciding on which batteries to go with.

You wouldn't happen to have some pictures to show off your handy work?
;)

Mo_Mike 10-29-2017 08:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by scrubjaysnest (Post 95226)
We have a pair of 400 watt inverters. One is mounted where the exterior TV was and the other is kept portable. Added additional 10 AWG wire to 12 volt outlets for the portable one.

Thinking about a 2000 watt so we can run the reefer when changing CG's even though to date this hasn't been an issue. We dry camp 95% of the time and the 500 watts of solar has been fine at keeping the crummy house batteries up.

Did you use rigid or flexible solar panels for the roof?


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:26 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2