Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Motorhome Tech Topics
Click Here to Login

Old 11-01-2018, 03:39 PM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Chateau 31E
State: Massachusetts
THOR #12979
Generator (Boondocking)

Hi All
I am still new to camping in an RV and have a question about running my generator. I have read that you should not run your generator at night while you sleep because of the possibility that the exhaust could leak inside the camper. So the question is should I be able to run it while we sleep?

Thanks

Old 11-01-2018, 04:00 PM   #2

Model: Hurricane 31S
State: Texas
THOR #6411
A carbon monoxide detector is in the bedroom is a must. A supplemental exhaust system is recommended (Camco gen-turi for instance). Usually the prohibition for not running the generator at night is to prevent disturbing the close by neighbors that are sleeping with the windows open or in tents (quiet hours).
Beau388 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2018, 05:02 PM   #3

State: Georgia
THOR #4735
a generator is just a simple tool to provide 120v power to your appliances/outlets/battery charger when you don't have Shore Power..it's an engine, not unlike your typical lawn mower engine.
The myth that generators shouldn't be run 'at night' is old and very unlikely to effect anyone since it is exhausted to the exterior, where it is easily dissipated. As for whether 'others' nearby will like the noise, that's also just a consideration depending on when and where you are using your generator. Many parks and campgrounds allow them anytime during the day, since they don't provide shore power, but will probably limit the hours you can use the generator during overnight hours.