Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Motorhome Tech Topics
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 12-03-2015, 02:50 AM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 35C
State: Maryland
THOR #3227
5 Star PCM Tuning for Ford V10 Gas

5 Star Tuning out of SC claims numerous improvements to the V10 performance and increased mpg. Has anyone purchased this $599 Upgrade? If so, what improvements did you see?
Thanks

2013 Chrysler 300 "S", 1936 Chrysler C-8
2012 Jeep Liberty Limited Edition
Brakeman48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2015, 03:04 AM   #2

Model: Hurricane 34E
State: Texas
THOR #1599
I have no experience with it, but have heard some positive things. My concern would be what the warranty ramifications would be with Ford, if you had a major engine problem? I could see them denying warranty work because of something like this that changes the characteristics of their engine.
San Antonio, Tx
Tytlfamily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2015, 12:35 PM   #3
Axis/Vegas Enthusiast

Model: Axis 24.4
State: Michigan
THOR #1150
There is one member here with a 5-star tune on their motorhome. I'm sure they will chime in when they read this.

I had a 5-star tune on my F-350. I waited until the warranty ran out before purchasing it; thus I don't know the warranty ramifications.

It made a huge difference with how the truck ran (easily knocked 1 second off the 0-60 times and gave me an extra 1mpg as well). 5-Star is a great company to work with. Members on ford-trucks.com have been using them for a while including really custom tunes (a completely custom shift table for the trans for the two modes (normal or tow/haul), custom point for overdrive lockout, etc.). All you need to do is contact them..