RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
 

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Motorhome Tech Topics
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-17-2018, 01:10 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Colorado
Posts: 2
THOR #11314
Connecting RV to 15 amps at home?

My motorhome uses 30 amp connection at campgrounds. But when visiting relatives and camped in their driveway I use a converter plug and use the house outlet which is of course only 15 amps. Is this dangerous? It allows me to have lights, refrigerator, tv, even heat with no problems. But haven't tried airconditioner yet.
__________________

__________________
jrp81752@yahoo.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 01:33 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: outlaw 37ls
State: Europe
Posts: 230
THOR #6831
i plug into 110volt house plug often, it is what i have in the warehouse were i store, although rv calls it 15 amp, your house circuit could be as high as 30 amp most likely 20 or 25 amp, a 20 amp house plug should start the 13,500btu ac unit, be careful of the lentgh of the extension cord.
__________________

__________________
captmetal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 01:49 AM   #3
gmc
Senior Member
 
gmc's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 32A
State: Florida
Posts: 1,871
THOR #2829
Most household outlets are either 15A or 20A...
A 20A outlet will have the ability to accept a 'true' 20A plug which has the 2 blades at right angles rather than parallel (in addition to the more 'normal' household plug...)

Multiple 15A outlets can be on a 20A circuit by code - though the outlet itself is only rated at 15A (the 'passthrough' connection to other outlets is rated at 20A.)

I wouldn't try running the A/C or Microwave unless on a true 20A outlet and circuit minimum - and even then only if no 'non-RV' extension cords (ie - no common 'orange' cords) are in use. Keep an eye on the '15-30A' adapter for heat issues.

Aside from the heavy loads - it is perfectly fine to plug in that way.. Did it all the time at last house when prepping for trip to run lights, charge batteries, cool fridge.
__________________
Greg
Not yet retired...
Florida (Michigan transplant)
2014 Hurricane 32A
2000 Infinity (previous)
gmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 02:36 AM   #4
I Think We're Lost!
 
Bob Denman's Avatar
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
State: New York
Posts: 17,968
THOR #8860
I use a 15 amp plug at home. No a/c or microwave: no problem!
__________________
Bob Denman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 02:55 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: S.O.B.
State: California
Posts: 1,365
THOR #3483
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrp81752@yahoo.com View Post
My motorhome uses 30 amp connection at campgrounds. But when visiting relatives and camped in their driveway I use a converter plug and use the house outlet which is of course only 15 amps. Is this dangerous? It allows me to have lights, refrigerator, tv, even heat with no problems. But haven't tried airconditioner yet.
But, if you don't have enough volts, around 108, you could damage the AC unit. I would count on everything but the AC when on a household 15 amp plug-in. On the Axis, even on a 30 amp plug-in, running the microwave and the AC will throw a circuit breaker. Not to mention, you don't really know what other circuits are tied into your relatives' 15 amp plug-in and drawing more load. I purchased a Hughes plug-in volt meter and leave it plugged in the receptacle by the entry door so I know what it going on when on gen power or shore power. Interesting when on shore power at a RV park. Sometimes the volts are higher in the morning than in the afternoon when more people are running their AC units.
__________________
axis earl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 03:39 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Travelin' Texans's Avatar
 
Brand: Redwood
State: Texas
Posts: 1,284
THOR #3610
If you have a surge protector use it between the rv & house plug. If you don't have a surge protector/EMS, GET ONE ASAP!
__________________
Danny & Linda
Sold our '13 Thor Redwood 36 FB
Currently RV & truckless
Replacement undetermined
Travelin' Texans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 12:43 PM   #7
Axis/Vegas Enthusiast
 
JamieGeek's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 24.1
State: Michigan
Posts: 9,193
THOR #1150
I plug into the same 120V outlet in our garage that I have a refrigerator plugged into. Run both all the time (RV & Refer without running A/C). Usually do that when getting ready or unloading.

I've even ran the A/C on that outlet (by unplugging the refer first) but only for short stints.
__________________
2014 Thor Axis 24.1
2018 Chevy Bolt
blog - https://spareelectrons.wordpress.com/
JamieGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 12:55 PM   #8
I Think We're Lost!
 
Bob Denman's Avatar
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
State: New York
Posts: 17,968
THOR #8860
It all comes down to how much power you're willing to try using...

I'm not that brave...
__________________
Good Sam Member 843599689
Current coach: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
Bob Denman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 02:03 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Four Winds 28A Class C
State: Vermont
Posts: 267
THOR #4117
I have my MH connected to a 15A outlet using an extension cord rated at about 15A. The only things that are on in the MH are occasional lights, battery chargers and the various alarms. I would never try the AC, microwave or any other high current device. When preparing for a trip we do have the refrigerator and occasionally the water pump on. No problems.
__________________
tenbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 02:43 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: '17 Hurricane 34F
State: Missouri
Posts: 233
THOR #6040
I do it a lot in my 50a RV, and i have an adapter that lets me connect into 2 separate 15a circuits in the house. I monitor voltage, and use 12ga extension cords.

My EMS gives me clues about what works off of each side of the 2x50a system so I am careful about what AC can be used. Initially, the battery charger and refrig use up enough that one AC can not be used, but the other is sitting on an otherwise idle load circuit. When I notice the battery charger is at a near rest, I can run both AC units.

Besides voltage, the risk is a tripped circuit breaker in the house, low risk. People get close to that every day using a hair dryer on high.


The attention and care are about the same as I have to employ while camping on a 30a site in the summer. One AC at a time, unless everything else is idle, then 2 can be used. Never combine microwave, coffee maker, etc. and AC on the same side.
__________________
wredman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 02:47 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
lazinskm's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Four Winds 28z
State: Florida
Posts: 401
THOR #5725
I have run the Ac with a 25ft 12g cord no problems and cord was cool. Never tried microwave.
__________________
lazinskm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 02:53 PM   #12
I Think We're Lost!
 
Bob Denman's Avatar
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
State: New York
Posts: 17,968
THOR #8860
Quote:
Originally Posted by wredman View Post
I do it a lot, and i have an adapter that lets me connect into 2 separate 15a circuits in the house. I monitor voltage, and use 12ga extension cords.
Can you tell us more about the adapter?
Where can you get them?
__________________
Good Sam Member 843599689
Current coach: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
Bob Denman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 03:05 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: '17 Hurricane 34F
State: Missouri
Posts: 233
THOR #6040
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Denman View Post
Can you tell us more about the adapter?
Where can you get them?
I did not buy from Homedepot, but I think this is the one I bought.

For a 50a RV

https://www.homedepot.com/p/Camco-50...FQq9Twod3rEAJQ


Note - it does not work at most campsites because neither circuit can be GFCI protected.
__________________
wredman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 03:08 PM   #14
Site Team
 
16ACE27's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
Posts: 5,422
THOR #7035
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Denman View Post
Can you tell us more about the adapter?
Where can you get them?
Yep, it has to be more than an "adapter" because if it just joins two 15 amp plugs together it would give new meaning to the term "suicide cord" and could possibly short the two hot lines in your house together causing bigger problems.
__________________
Ted & Melinda
2016 ACE 27.1
2016 Chevy Sonic Toad
2020 Chevy Colorado Z71 Trail Runner Alternate Toad
16ACE27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 03:11 PM   #15
Site Team
 
16ACE27's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
Posts: 5,422
THOR #7035
Quote:
Originally Posted by wredman View Post
I did not buy from Homedepot, but I think this is the one I bought.

https://www.homedepot.com/p/Camco-50...FQq9Twod3rEAJQ


Note - it does not work at most campsites because neither circuit can be GFCI protected.

Yeah, that's not an adapter that allows you to plug into two 15 amp receptacles and it is for a 50 Amp RV connection so it wouldn't work for a 30 Amp RV.
__________________
Ted & Melinda
2016 ACE 27.1
2016 Chevy Sonic Toad
2020 Chevy Colorado Z71 Trail Runner Alternate Toad
16ACE27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 03:14 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: '17 Hurricane 34F
State: Missouri
Posts: 233
THOR #6040
The adapter maintains the 2 separate feeds to the 2 separate circuits in your coach. They are both separately monitor-able via the EMS just like connecting to a true 50a service.

agree - not for a 30a RV
__________________
wredman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 04:00 PM   #17
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Colorado
Posts: 2
THOR #11314
Connecting RV to home 15 amp outlets

Thanks to everyone for their sage advice! I appreciate the benefit of your experience. This is our first motorhome and we seem to learn something new each trip out.
__________________
jrp81752@yahoo.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 04:13 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2017 Thor Vegas 25.2
State: Indiana
Posts: 297
THOR #7993
I use the 30a cord that we plug into the service at campgrounds. I've got an adapter that goes from the 30a male end into the 20a outlet in the garage. We use the AC without any problems and it keeps the batteries topped up.
__________________
jb1911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 04:27 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Brand: Still Looking
State: Texas
Posts: 4,858
THOR #2121
Quote:
Originally Posted by jb1911 View Post
I use the 30a cord that we plug into the service at campgrounds. I've got an adapter that goes from the 30a male end into the 20a outlet in the garage. We use the AC without any problems and it keeps the batteries topped up.
I do the same with my van or rented RVs. I also use the 30-Amp cord which minimizes voltage drop, and then use adaptor at 20-Amp plug in garage. I often run A/C or vacuum while cleaning RVs.
__________________
Chance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 04:33 PM   #20
Site Team
 
16ACE27's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
Posts: 5,422
THOR #7035
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrp81752@yahoo.com View Post
My motorhome uses 30 amp connection at campgrounds. But when visiting relatives and camped in their driveway I use a converter plug and use the house outlet which is of course only 15 amps. Is this dangerous? It allows me to have lights, refrigerator, tv, even heat with no problems. But haven't tried airconditioner yet.
Quote:
Originally Posted by wredman View Post
The adapter maintains the 2 separate feeds to the 2 separate circuits in your coach. They are both separately monitor-able via the EMS just like connecting to a true 50a service.

agree - not for a 30a RV
The OP was about connecting a 30 Amp RV to a 15 Amp outlet.
__________________

__________________
Ted & Melinda
2016 ACE 27.1
2016 Chevy Sonic Toad
2020 Chevy Colorado Z71 Trail Runner Alternate Toad
16ACE27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 06:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
×