Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Motorhome Tech Topics
Click Here to Login

Old 12-02-2018, 03:31 PM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Vegas 24.1
State: Texas
THOR #12852
Excessive Play in Steering Wheel

I am new to RV'ing. My wife and I bought our 2019 Thor Vegas 24.1 last September. Since that time, we have taken it out 4 times, with the longest trip being for 11 days and about 1500 miles. While we have enjoyed it very much and encountered little in the way of issues, I do have concerns over the excessive amount of play in the steering of the vehicle. Under normal conditions (with little or no wind), I am constantly having to correct the steering to stay in my lane. The vehicle seems to bounce from stripe to stripe even when I make the most gentle corrections. Then there are times when it gets windy. One day driving through central Texas we encountered what I estimated to be 15 to 25 mph gusting crosswinds. These winds would cause the RV to make extreme movements (3 to 5 ft) before I ever had the opportunity to bring the unit back under control. I understand that RV's, especially the smaller/lighter ones like my Vegas, are basically shoeboxes on wheels and that wind does impact the drivability. That said, I don't think it is normal to for the steering to mimic that of a carnival ride. Nor do I think it is acceptable to have to constantly fight the steering wheel to keep from getting killed on a windy day.

I have brought this issue to the attention of the folks I bought the unit from. They have been responsive in that they said they took it to a local shop specializing in RV wheel alignment. The report back didn't identify any issues nor did they offer any recommendations for what could be done to "tighten" up the steering.