Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Motorhome Tech Topics
Click Here to Login

Old 02-28-2019, 12:39 PM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Georgia
THOR #14557
Freeze is coming - HELP!

Apologies since I am brand new to RVing, have had the Freedom Elite 26HE for just a couple of weeks, parked in driveway and plugged into 20A house outlet while I learn about all of the systems.

We are expecting a couple of nights in the low to mid 20s next week, and highs in the 40s, and the RV is not winterized. I put a few gallons of water into the tank just to "practice" using the 12V pump. My question is, if I keep the propane heat (and a space heater) going during those two cold days next week do you think I can squeak by without fully draining everything and winterizing with antifreeze in the water tank?

Old 02-28-2019, 12:52 PM   #2

Model: THOR Chateua 35SF
State: Florida
THOR #11130
I would guess you'd be OK. That's what I do (Atlanta) for the few days the temps drop below freezing, then back above freezing the next day. Set the furnace at 40 or so. Anything higher will eat your propane fast. Open all cabinet doors under sinks, etc. Make sure your power supply can handle a portable heater. If it's gonna freeze for 2 or more days never reaching above 32, I would winterize it. It's very easy and cheap to do. If all you have in your tank is water...drain it on the ground and add a gallon of RV antifreeze once empty. Also, pour a little antifreeze in the sink traps, toilet bowls, etc. If anyone has used the potty (don't lie), pour a gallon or two of antifreeze into the black tanks also.
Two Labs, Bugsie & Blondie
Blondie passed in 2020 at 5 to Leukemia
The Gritz Carlton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2019, 12:56 PM   #3
I Think We're Lost!

Brand: Still Looking
Model: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
State: New York
THOR #8860