RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
 

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Motorhome Tech Topics
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-12-2016, 11:51 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Challenger 37KT
State: Texas
Posts: 155
THOR #2871
Exclamation How to Get RV Park Cable TV?

My third trip out in the new Challenger. First time attempting to connect to RV park cable. I have watched over the air TV and a movie on DVR other trips. This time connected cable from TV hook-up box in storage bay to the park's cable connection. Ran the Auto-scan for cable channels from the TV menu. Zero channels found. Said to check antenna or cable connection and try again. I have tried three times. Switch box in my unit looks nothing like the one in the manual and there are no instructions that I can find. RVing for 14 years, last 6 months with the Challenger. Have become very frutstrated with Thor. Can anyone assist me in connecting to the cable? Thank you very much.
__________________

__________________
Robert
Nacogdoches, TX
2016 Thor Challenger 37KT
2015 Ford Focus
rbmartiniv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2016, 12:00 AM   #2
Site Team
 
EA37TS's Avatar
 
Brand: Entegra
Model: Accolade 37TS
State: Virginia
Posts: 4,818
THOR #1469
Robert,

Did you turn off the antenna booster/amplifier? No sure where yours is but mine is behind the hdmi switch on the shelf over the fireplace. The booster looks like an electrical switch plate with a small push button. The booster must be off for the TVs to find cable channels.
__________________

__________________
Dave
US Army (Ret)
2020 Entegra Accolade 37TS
2019 Jeep Grand Cherokee Trailhawk (Toad)
FMCA - F432054
EA37TS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2016, 12:24 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
DinoC41's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Windsport 29M
State: Texas
Posts: 1,144
THOR #2757
Quote:
Originally Posted by dstankov View Post
Robert,

Did you turn off the antenna booster/amplifier? No sure where yours is but mine is behind the hdmi switch on the shelf over the fireplace. The booster looks like an electrical switch plate with a small push button. The booster must be off for the TVs to find cable channels.
Right on Dave...that should do it!
__________________
DinoC41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2016, 01:27 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Challenger 37KT
State: Texas
Posts: 155
THOR #2871
Thanks! Found the button!! Finding cable channels!! Wife is happy now. I owe you.
__________________
Robert
Nacogdoches, TX
2016 Thor Challenger 37KT
2015 Ford Focus
rbmartiniv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2016, 02:58 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: vegas 24.1
State: Florida
Posts: 126
THOR #1466
Antenna booster is located way back in the upper cabinet over the kitchen sink in my 2014 Vegas 24.1. Stupid, difficult location, needing a stepstool to turn it on/off. I am about to relocate it to a more accessible spot., Don't know why the manufacturers do this. Tiffin I had was just as bad. Could not see the booster switch without step-up. With the booster turned on, no cable channels will come thru.
__________________
davidgebo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2016, 03:07 PM   #6
Site Team
 
EA37TS's Avatar
 
Brand: Entegra
Model: Accolade 37TS
State: Virginia
Posts: 4,818
THOR #1469
My Forest River didn't have an antenna booster and it didn't need one either. It did have an AV switch which allowed selecting what was used on each of the three televisions. Don't know why, but if someone was inclined to do so they could watch cable on one television and over the air channels on another. IMHO that was a much better setup.
__________________
Dave
US Army (Ret)
2020 Entegra Accolade 37TS
2019 Jeep Grand Cherokee Trailhawk (Toad)
FMCA - F432054
EA37TS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2016, 04:27 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
bevedfelker's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2015 Vegas 24.1
State: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,339
THOR #2601
Even after turning off the antenna booster if your TVs don't find cable channels they may be Seikis that do not contain an QAM tuner that will decode coded cable systems. I have 2 in my Vegas 24.1 that are like that. Also have a Saiyko in the bedroom and it scans cable channels fine.
__________________
Ed & Bev Felker
Retired USAF Col and retired Nurse
Traveling with Lily & Bella ('Teddy Bear' breed)
2015 Vegas 24.1 (E-350)
bevedfelker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2016, 04:57 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Model: 25.2 Axis
State: Arizona
Posts: 607
THOR #3471
Can I Connect portable direct TV on tripod to my outside antenna plug to get TV into my 2016 axis
__________________

__________________
Hugh.vines@att.net is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 01:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
×