RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
 

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Motorhome Tech Topics
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-31-2018, 11:30 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Texas
Posts: 8
THOR #11235
How To Hook Up Cable on 17 Palazzo

We cannot figure out how to connect a cable line at RV site to our Palazzo without adding a cable box in the entertainment cabinet in the RV to the cable outlet in that cabinet. Other on the Forum have given me differing guidance on whats up but still no clear answer on how to gt cable to work on all three TVs.

Do I need a cable box?
Do I need to connect something to the cable outlet in the entertainment cabinet?
How do I connect to cable channels in the RV when connect to RV site cable?

Thanks,
Rick
__________________

__________________
90Ranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2018, 12:11 AM   #2
Axis/Vegas Enthusiast
 
JamieGeek's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 24.1
State: Michigan
Posts: 9,184
THOR #1150
That depends: Is the incoming cable signal encrypted? If so then you'll need a cable box for each TV. If it isn't encrypted then the answer is a little more complicated:
Some RV TV's don't include the QAM decoder required for non-encrypted cable signals--if your TVs doesn't have the decoder then you'll need a cable box.
If your TVs does have a QAM decoder then you may not need a cable box.

Problem is: The easiest way to determine if your TVs have a QAM decoder or not is to simply hook it up to cable and try (the owner's manual for the TV may show if one is present or not in the specs...).
__________________

__________________
2014 Thor Axis 24.1
2018 Chevy Bolt
blog - https://spareelectrons.wordpress.com/
JamieGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2018, 12:43 AM   #3
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Palazzo 36.1
State: Texas
Posts: 57
THOR #3182
I assume you are able to get signal from your antenna on all 3tv’s? If so then you should be wired via coax cabling to all 3 TVs, once you connect the cable outside at the pole to your Palazzo then you need to make sure the antenna booster is turned off in the entertainment area. If the booster is on you won’t get cable.
Then you obviously have to run the channel scan on each TV set to “cable”. Most of the times, if the park you’re staying at requires a box to get the cable signal they’ll let you know or rent you one.

Good luck
__________________
howzball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2018, 04:18 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
State: Arkansas
Posts: 7
THOR #7279
Quote:
Originally Posted by 90Ranger View Post
We cannot figure out how to connect a cable line at RV site to our Palazzo without adding a cable box in the entertainment cabinet in the RV to the cable outlet in that cabinet. Other on the Forum have given me differing guidance on whats up but still no clear answer on how to gt cable to work on all three TVs.

Do I need a cable box?
Do I need to connect something to the cable outlet in the entertainment cabinet?
How do I connect to cable channels in the RV when connect to RV site cable?

Thanks,
Rick
The cable connection is in the department with the sewer and water hook up, in the top left.
__________________
faulk7763 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 10:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
×