RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
 

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Motorhome Tech Topics
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-19-2019, 04:58 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Quantum WS 31
State: Indiana
Posts: 19
THOR #8403
Quantum WS31 generator

This may seem like a silly question and some may ask why, but can you run the generator while plugged into 110 power? Can't run AC on 110.
__________________

__________________
TheQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2019, 06:06 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
The Gritz Carlton's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: THOR Chateua 35SF
State: Georgia
Posts: 4,038
THOR #11130
No. Auto transfer switch will only allow one power source at a time. Does your A/C run with generator power but not with shore power?
__________________

__________________
2018 THOR Chateau 35SF
Two Labs, Bugsie & Blondie
The Gritz Carlton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2019, 06:38 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Quantum WS 31
State: Indiana
Posts: 19
THOR #8403
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Gritz Carlton View Post
No. Auto transfer switch will only allow one power source at a time. Does your A/C run with generator power but not with shore power?
That is correct. It run with generator but not 110 shore power.
__________________
TheQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2019, 06:58 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
The Gritz Carlton's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: THOR Chateua 35SF
State: Georgia
Posts: 4,038
THOR #11130
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheQ View Post
That is correct. It run with generator but not 110 shore power.

That's a tough one there and goes above my pay grade. There are a few here that are really good with the electrical systems. The power divide between the two sources is so close to the input location it would seem almost impossible for this to happen. Check the power at the pole or have someone do this. It could be one leg of the power supply (50A) is not live or your power cord is damage inside somewhere.
__________________
2018 THOR Chateau 35SF
Two Labs, Bugsie & Blondie
The Gritz Carlton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2019, 09:00 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Brand: Still Looking
State: Texas
Posts: 4,748
THOR #2121
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheQ View Post
This may seem like a silly question and some may ask why, but can you run the generator while plugged into 110 power? Can't run AC on 110.
Do you have single 15,000 A/C or dual 11,000 BTU/hr A/Cs?

It is a 30-Amp motorhome, correct?

Does anything else not run or operate when on shore power but will on generator?

The more you can describe what’s happening, the more help you’ll probably be able to get in my opinion.
__________________
Chance is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 02:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
×